Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    It used to be that FF would load a little faster than Avant Browser (which is based on IE). I now find that it takes longer to download the graphics on a page. (This has been going on about a week.) It's a little hard to describe. The page downloads, with placeholders for graphics. Then the page sort of shrinks a little & the placeholders become graphics. Sometimes a page will load in 4 seconds, but will take another 6 for the little circle on the tab bar to stop moving. Does this happen to anyone else?

    I have Win 98SE, Pent II, 600MH, 256MB RAM & an ADSL connection (Earthlink).

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    I notice that sometimes the page will redraw and redimension various elements as it downloads, but usually it uses the cached graphics and I don't see a delay there. My cache is set to "50000" KB (I assume this is the default, or was migrated from IE, since I don't recall setting it). I don't know if Firefox has a setting like IE where you adjust how frequently it checks for changes in cached items. Do you recall installing any extensions that might relate to that?

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    My cache is set to 25600. I haven't seen any option regarding how often to check, but I do have a "ReloadEvery" extension. Sometimes that goes haywire & just keeps reloading. But even if I disable that, I still have the delay.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    Yes Phil - I have noticed exactly the same thing in this past week but I have no idea what is causing it. My cache is set to 50000.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    As you know, settings are viewable by entering about:config in the address bar. I think the entry you are looking for is

    browser.cache.check_doc_frequency

    Mine is 3 - which may be the default. My cache size is also 50000 - which appears to also be the default.

    HTH
    Gre

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    Mine was set at 1. Just changed it to 3 and things seemed to have improved dramatically. Will keep an eye on this for a few days and see of it sticks. Thanks for the info unkamunka.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    Ah - and now I know why. A setting of 1 refreshes the page each time it is viewed, 3 refreshes when the page is out of date. Obviously the 3 setting is using the cached page for the most part. My "probelm" started at the same time as I originally changed this value to 1.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    I wonder if the extension mentioned above toggles this value?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    >I wonder if the extension mentioned above toggles this value?

    Almost certainly, yes. I now generally install only two or three extensions. (This is not one of them.)

    I do, however, tend to carry over certain prefs.js settings. Once upon a time, there were certain user.js settings that only took if they were pasted into prefs.js. I suppose I should see whether they can be migrated back into user.js. (From memory, these were font settings - which are a lot more configurable than IE.)
    Gre

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    Like John's, mine was also set at 1. I changed it to 3 & noticed an improvement, also. It seems to hold, even with the reload extension active. I really like to use the reload one in the Lounge. If I don't open the Word forum & set the reload to every minute, Hans will beat me every time. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    I'm still a little confused, as I recall the Lounge instructions saying you should set your browser to refresh every time you visit the page.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    I have never followed that instruction. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> In a perfect world, we would have the option to refresh the dynamic content (the .pl script pages) but not the static content (the *.gif, *.jpg, and so forth). Until that becomes available, you just have to accept one compromise or the other.

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    I'm not sure if I can have the "ReloadEvery" extension & the (browser.cache.check_doc_frequency, 3). I just loaded the Lounge in Firefox & it loaded slowly. I checked prefs.js & the above value had disappeared completely. I haven't figured out how to get a user.js yet. I should create one somewhere (don't know where to put it) & put that value in & make it read only.

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    >I haven't figured out how to get a user.js yet. I should create one somewhere (don't know where to put it) & put that value in & make it read only.

    Try here - for details on the user.js file. There's also a user chrome for those who wish to play with the browser's appearance. (It sounds like you're right about trying to have your cake and eat it with the "ReloadEvery" extension.) <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Gre

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    Thanks so much for this, Unkamunka. This is great. I had created a user.js in the wrong place, so I've moved it. I'm still not completely comfortable with what I've done. I created a profile named "phrab" in C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfiles. However, according to the link you provided, user.js should have been in C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesDefault, so I moved the whole phrab folder there. Although I had only created a user.js file in the phrab folder, it now contains:

    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabbookmark s.html
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabextensio ns
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrablocalsto re.rdf
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabmimeType s.rdf
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabsearch.r df
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabUS
    C:WINDOWSApplication DataMozillaFirefoxProfilesdefault.ou3phrabuser.js

    so I presume it's doing something. If I was only supposed to create a user.js file directly in the default.ou3 folder, please let me know.

    Cheers,

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firefox slow in Lounge (FF 0.9.3)

    phrab is your Profile folder IF it is also the place where the latest version of your prefs.js is stored. (The *.s and *.w files with your passwords and form filling out details should be in the same folder.) Your user.js should be in a subfolder called chrome. There may be sample files in there already. The reason I say "IF" is that you may have chosen to use a non-default folder for the storing of your Profile. Wherever Firefox updates prefs.js after each closing of your browser is the actual Profile folder. (You can configure bookmarks.html to be in a completely different folder.) HTH
    Gre

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •