Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: XP Pro (SP-2)

  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    XP Pro (SP-2)

    Well, I decided to be brave this morning. I downloaded SP-2 from MSDN (yikes the ISO is 435 MB). Installed on two PCs at work after backing up. NOTE: AFTER BACKING UP. One is a test machine that had SP-2 RC2 on it. The other is my PC (semi-test/ semi-production) that had SP-1 fully patched. Both installs went flawlessly and have been running without a hitch for several hours. Even though it is supposed to be OK to update from RC2 to the RTM SP-2 and went fine for me I don't think I'd suggest that as a normal approach. At a minimum I'd uninstall RC2. Better yet restore from a pre-RC2 image. Then install SP-2. More later about the two configurations.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    So far so good. Nothing untoward on either machine after about 7 hours. Here's some configuration information for each machine.

    The 'test machine - Sony Vaio 2.8 Ghz P4 with Hyper-threading enabled. 512 MB RAM, 120 GB disk, 64 MB ATI Radeon 9200 video card, Pioneer DVR-106 DVD writer. WinXP SP-2, Office 2k premium SP-3, SQL server 2k SP-3a, WinZIp 9.0, Adobe Reader 6.0.2, ATI driver 6.14.10.6436, Diskeeper Lite 7.0.418, FileZilla 2.2.8a, Sun Java 2 SE 1.4.2_04, .NET framework 1.1.4322, VNC 4.0, WinXP powertoys, Intel PRO/100 VE 7.0.26.

    My PC (semi-test as I'm the guinea pig for a lot). DELL Optiplex GX150 866 Mhz PIII, 256 MB RAM, 20 GB disk, LG CD-RW, integrated Intel 82815 video controller, 3COM 3C920 integrated ethernet controller. WinXP Pro SP-2, Office XP Pro SP-3, Adobe reader 6.0.2 Adobe SVG Viewer, AM-Deadlink 2.01, Diskeeper Lite 7.0.418, FileZilla 2.2.8a, Google Toolbat 2.0.113, Java 2 SE 1.4.2_05, .NET framework 1.1, DirectX 9.0c, MDAC 2.8, Office XP resource kit, TrendMicro Officescan Client 7.1, WindowsXP Powertoys, WinZip 9.0 SR-1 beta, WindowsXP support tools.

    More later in the week as we work with it more.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Have survived a full 24 hours at work. Things still going well. Several reboots on my PC - just to see what happens + normal workstation backup. Also, installed on my PC at home last night. Went very well again. Only thing I noticed was the Security Center does not recognize the Sygate Personal Firewall 5.5.2637 (free version). It does recognize Avast! AV software. So far, I'd say this is the best OS service pack I've seen from MS. I do reserve the right to change my mind and go on a rant if something acts up. Will post more later in the week.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Sounds like you are have a good install.
    As for the firewall not being recognized, Sygate needs to do a update along with ALL other firewalls and AV programs. I thing you will be seeing them real soon.

    By the way, I am not having any problems on my test machine.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Yes, so far it is going very well. I'm leaving the MS firewall running on machines at work. Just having to add a few exceptions - internal and third party stuff. I just don't know why all the firewall & AV companies have waited until after the fact. They've had a chance to test, change code, re-test for a long time. I installed on two more PCs (one test, one production) at work this AM. Glad to see your test machine is doing OK.

    Joe

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Just to add to the collection, for the benefit of other Loungers in the NEAR future... I downloaded XP Service Pack 2 from this link this morning and a short time ago installed it for test purposes on my XP Pro "virtual machine" (see <!post=this thread for background.,384935>this thread for background.<!/post> ). It took quite awhile to install, so much so that I went to the grocery store while it was installing. But, since it's a VM one shouldn't make big judgements on that score. All went without a hitch and I was pleased that the Security Center opened upon completion to give me the chance to turn off the automatic updates and firewall. That went OK too except that I notice now that when I restart I get one of those annoying balloons warning me that I'm at risk. The OS seems to be operating OK.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    BigAl,
    If you open the Security Center you can change how it checks that stuff. See the last entry in the 'Resources' panel on the left.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Joe,

    Is this the official release of SP2 or a copy that "leaked" out?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Yes, it does take some time to install. It does do a "Uninstall" file which takes some time and then the install is some what faster than others that I have installed.

    As for the "Balloon" I think you need to just select the one that you will handle it. Also you may find that this will pop on EACH account as you log in on the different user accounts.

    If you are running ZA or a firewall that allows you to remove any of the program settings, I would remove them and then add them back as needed. The reason for this is that you now have NEW exe files IE, OE, Windows Explorer, Messenger and etc. This will include the "Help and Support" and several of the "Generic Host" type of access.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    You can down load SP2 from HERE, it is the Microsoft for the file. The link from the "Download Center" just has not been added.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    It is official. See Dave's reply for a download link.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Ok, Downloaded and installed.
    So far so good. Took a while to install ( or was I just being impatient? ) Huge download, don't know what I would do if I didn't have DSL.

    Only thing I noticed so far was an alert saying that my Local area connection had limited or no connectivity? It offered to repair it but failed. Don't quite know what that meant since I am obviously here on line and running at a decent speed.

    Have to look into that.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    For those who care, I have been installing SP2 with Norton's AV 2004 and ZoneAlarm 4.?? running. I had a couple AV pop ups about the scanning of a file. One can select OK, and it will continue the scanning.

    Also Messenger needed access (blocked in ZA) as it is being updated and I would suggest to let it update and do what you feel you need to to it after the install is completed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Just installed it and no problems so far. I installed the Norton updates earlier today and the Windows security centre recognised Norton.

    It makes a nice change to hear of people successfully installing MS updates. Reading through various newsgroups you usually only get to hear of those that have problems and not from all the successful updates. Maybe I am just lucky but since I started using Windows & Office at home (Windows 3.11 & Office 4) all the updates and new installations have installed successfully.

  15. #15
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: XP Pro (SP-2)

    Still going well. No stops/BSODs. The popup blocker by default seems better than the one in the Google toolbar. Occasionally have to allow a site. No big deal. The only thing at work was having to tweak firewall settings on a test machine. Those settings are only for our internal stuff and software that we sell and some that we re-sell. Going great at home too. At the risk of incurring disaster, I'll repeat that this is the best MS service pack I've seen. That inlcudes all the NT, Win2k, Win9x/ME, Exchange 5.5, SQL server 7 & 2k, plus others I've forgotten.

    Joe
    Joe

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •