Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts

    Ad-aware update

    Lavasoft has released a new update to all of the various Adaware versions. They've renamed it
    Ad-aware SE with a version of 1.01. It you use plugins see this in their forums: Adaware 1.01 plugins - the old plugins are not compatible. NOTE: In the forums it says to uninstall prior versions and plugins before installing the update and new plugins. I'll be doing this after I complete this post.

    Joe

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Thanks Joe. Just to clarify, this version checks for an existing installation and offers to do the uninstall for you. It does not appear to delete the old files/ folder though. I found it easiest to delete these manually, after letting it do its thing and install completely into a new folder. <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>

    Alan

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Thanks, Joe! I installed the standard/personal/free edition, and it picks up lots more ads and cookies, even though v6 ran clean not ten minutes earlier.

    I can't get it to let me change the directory name into which it's installed on XP, but this works fine on NT4...!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    That is true. However, I saw a thread in the support forums that recommended uninstalling any plugins first then Adaware before installing the new version.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Fair enough. I don't use plugins (until now <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>), but the LSP explorer seems like an interesting add-on. Do you have any recommendations w.r.t. these extras?

    Alan

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Thanks for the heads-up Joe. I had just run a scan with AdAware 6 & Spybot S&D last night and was given a clean bill of health. After removing version 6 and installing Adaware v1.01, a scan picked up 13 new objects !! <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    I suppose one can never be too careful, or too up-to-date when it comes to malware. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Not really. I've never played with them. Just observed that they seem interesting enough to have around. Although, I'd probably forget they are installed by the time I'd need the functionality.

    Joe

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,613
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 625 Times in 558 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Just an observation. The new version seems to scan much faster.

    Joe

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware update

    I'm getting very frustrated with Ad-Aware. I updated to version 6 Pro a week ago. My confirmation shows as SE but nothing in the About Ad-Aware shows that , the copyright seems to indicate that it is not that version, and I can't figure out how to get the latest version without repurchasing it. There doesn't seem to be a means of downloading an update, only the "personal" free version, and I could find no information that was helpful. I really hate the fact that you have to keep checking back to see if there is an updated version because the app itself never lets you know. These are some of the same irritations I had with earlier versions of Ad-Aware, and Lavasoft doesn't seem to have learned anything from their earlier problems.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Joe

    Not in my case at home*, because it now scans my "Software" directory, where I keep all the installation files! Rather than about 50,000 "objects" it now scans at least 80,000 and found 89 (yes) new Critical Objects relating both to my and "the other" user account. One of these is because I choose to have "about:blank" as my home page...

    John

    * more precisely, it IS faster but it scans MUCH MORE, so it is SLOWER than v6.181...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Ad-aware update

    It only found 1 new critical object for me (a cookie). I did a full system scan and it did identify 43 other items all relating to mru lists.

    As for about:blank I set my home page in IE to about:home - it still brings up about:blank as the home page but avoids potential confusion with the about:blank hijack within spyware scanners.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pickering, Ontario
    Posts
    642
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Hi Charlotte,

    Found this note at the Lavasoft site. It would appear that notifications will be sent / received within the next 48 hours.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Hmmm. I just uninstalled version 6 & installed the new SE V1.01.
    1. During two scans, my system (Win 98SE) complained of low resources, even thought the resource meter showed 76% free. I did a third sucessful scan, but the computer seemed sluggish.
    2. Ad-Aware hung during my first two scans.
    3. It found no new objects (I must keep a really clean machine. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    4. It took longer.
    5. Pressing F1 while the program is open no longer brings up the Help file.

    With regard to about:blank, the new version has a setting that allows it to read your current home page (otherwise it uses msn.com as the default). Nevertheless, it still listed about:blank as a possible hijack attempt. I just told it to ignore it, but I may try Tony's cure.

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    <center>
    <hr>I really hate the fact that you have to keep checking back to see if there is an updated version because the app itself never lets you know<hr>
    </center>Hi Charlotte,
    I believe that this latest version addresses your complaint. But most likely only in the paid version. I came across the settings to automatically check for updates (see screenshot), but they are greyed out in the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> version. I am assuming tht the paid version would offer this feature. As to how you get your recent version 6 Pro upgraded free, I'm not sure. Perhaps an e-mail to support ??
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ad-aware update

    Hi Doc:
    I think that's only to check for updated definition files, not updated versions.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •