Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 SP-8)

    I have a Report with two Subreports, Subreport1 and Subreport2.

    As I

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    Which section of the main report contains SubReport1? And which section of the main report contains SubReport2?

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    Hans

    They are both in the detail section, Subreport1 is first over Subreport2

    John

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    I don't think you will be able to do it this way, I don't think you can delay the formatting of one subreport until another one in the same section has finished. I don't see a solution offhand.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    Hans

    1. Didn

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    1. Reports are very different from forms.
    2. Is the main report bound to a record source?

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    2. Is the main report bound to a record source?

    No, only the subreports have a record source

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    The technique you refer to is for forms and isn't appropriate to reports. I don't populate the subform *control* until it is needed. You can't do that with a report.

    I don't understand what you're trying to accomplish. *Why* are you trying to populate the two subreports from the same table in this fashion? It would make more sense to use queries for the two reports that would filter the records appropriately. Is one of them somehow dependent on the other? Without more information on what's going on, it isn't really possible to make a useful suggestion.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    Hi Charlotte

    I have a Report with two Subreports, Subreport1 and Subreport2.

    As I

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    I guess the question is, why aren't you doing this from the main report instead of another subreport? Each subreport run independently of the other, assuming that one is not embedded in the other, but both of them are child windows of the parent report. If you need to control the contents, it's easiest to do it from the parent. You might have to post a sample of the reports and the tables so we can begin to see what you are attempting.
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    It all seems a very exotic way of doing things, but you might see if it works if you put Subreport1 into the report header of the main report and Subreport2 into the report footer.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    Charlotte & Hans

    This is a non-normalize report that pulls info from several different areas and recalculates monthly totals and percentages from daily transactions. I decided to create my Temp Table file in its entirety in Report On Open and report from it.

    Question: Is there a way to combine separate Reports by bringing them together when the first one is finished and have them appear as one continuous seamless report for the end user?

    Thanks, John

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need Help With Subreport Record Source? (a2k (9.0.6926) SP-3 Jet 4.0 S

    You can use code to print several reports in sequence, but each report will start on a new page. From a question higher up in this thread, I think you want them to continue on the same page. As far as I know, the only way to do that is to put the individual reports as subreports on a main report, but you already tried that.

    An alternative would be to use Automation to create a Word document. It's a lot of work, but you can control the contents of the Word document completely. Moderator <!profile=WendellB>WendellB<!/profile> has a tutorial on Automation on his website (see the link in his profile).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •