Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    More Memory For My DAW?

    People,

    Called my PC mfg. (Dell) hoping to beef up on RAM cheaply (I do a lot of work in digital audio multitracking...& naturally want the best performance possible out of my machine.)

    They informed me that my box has two 256MB sticks of NECC (Non Error Correction Code) RDRAM; & that they didn't mfg. NECC anymore; & that I would have to remove the two NECC sticks & replace them with ECC (Error Correction Code) sticks because the two types cannot be mixed; & they recommended two 512MB sticks, to the tune of 550 bucks.

    My MoBo is an Intel 850E; & Intel says it has 4 RDRAM RIMM* Sockets; & supports PC800 RDRAM (from 128MB to 2GB.) The MCH (Memory Controller Hub) works via Integrated Dual Direct RAMBUS* technology.

    I'm running SONAR XL on the Dell (8250) w/ a P4 (2.5GHz - 512 KB L2 Cache, 533 MHz FSB) & a dedicated audio drive (both drives are ATA/133.) My existing memory is 512 MB PC1066 RDRAM (this last spec...which is from my original packing list...I find interesting...because...Dell says I have PC1066 in the box now...Intel says that board supports PC800.)

    So, I'm wondering:

    Why can't I mix?
    If I can't...can I just pick up another 512MB NECC stick from a reputable mfg. & throw it in the box?
    What's the difference between NECC & ECC anyway (& why the frick does memory need error correction to begin with?)
    Do I really need ECC?
    What should I do?

    Thanks,

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    I may be misremembering, but... I believe that ECC memory uses 9 bits for each byte: 8 bits to store the data, like Non-ECC memory, and a parity bit to detect any error in the data bits. At least, that is how the original PC RAM used to work before we went to these high capacity sticks.

    If your system requires RDRAM, you're just generally in for an expensive ride. Can it use normal SDRAM in the same or in some other slots?

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    Generally, ECC memory is only used in a situation on servers or high performance workstation doing heavy duty work where losing your data is a really big potentially expensive deal. ECC can recover from single bit parity erros on the fly thus saving your butt in those situations. You most likely don't really need it.

    I think that in Intel systems you have to have RDRAM in pairs. Check the system memory section at Pricewatch for alternatives to Dell's memory prices. Make sure you buy a reliable name such as Samsung or Infineon. Check the return policy of the site also in case you do have problems.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    And just in case you don't know about them, you should (could) at least go to Crucial's web pages and put in your machine identifying info to see what they recommend. Obviously, you don't have to buy from them.

    P. S. As I type this, the Crucial site is "down for maintenance" so I hope there's nothing wrong with my link...

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    BigAL,
    I could be wrong but I don't think Crucial markets RDDRAM.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    Thanx, Joe. As usual you bailed me out - as I didn't know that.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    Call Crucial and ask, they are usually very helpful.

    Web site is http://www.crucial.com.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    jscher200, joeperez, bigaldoc, & Howard...

    Thanks all (as usual...you guys always steer me in the right direction.)

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    405
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More Memory For My DAW?

    Follow-up...

    Found Samsung 256MB PC1066 32ns 16-Bit 184 Pin 533MHZ RAMBUS NECC RDRAM Sticks for $105 each @ MemorySuppliers.com, w/ a 30 day money back gaurantee...

    Leave the 2 existing sticks in the MoBo...pop 2 new ones in (since installation "pairs" are required)...giving me 1GB...

    How's that sound?

    mark4man
    ADK Pro Audio Quad Pro, w/ Intel Core i7 2600 CPU | 8 GB DDR3-1600 RAM | Seagate 500 GB SATA II (Primary) HD | Seagate 1 TB SATA II (Audio Data) HD | Win 7 Pro 64-Bit | Lynx Aurora8 ~ AES16 | Universal Audio UAD-1 | Cakewalk SONAR PE XI | Steinberg WaveLab 7 | NI Komplete 5 | Band-In-A-Box 2012

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •