Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Firewalls and the MN700

    I'm runnng a home network.

    The base station is running XP pro, the one workstation is running Win2K.

    I just had a heck of time getting my two PC's to talk to each other <!post=Home network (XP SP-1),396657>Home network (XP SP-1)<!/post>. I finally solved the problem by UNINSTALLING (NOT disabling) the ZoneAlarm that I had running on the base station.

    But now, I have no firewall on the base station.

    What or how can I get my protection of the base station secured?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    I could never quite understand your network layout as it seemed to change part-way through the thread.

    Can you confirm:

    1] Your internet connection comes into a modem which is connected to the router. The XP machine is connected directly and only to the router. The W2K machine is connected (by wireless) only to the router.
    or
    2] Your internet connection comes into a modem which is connected to the XP machine. The XP machine connects to the router. The W2K machine connects to the router.

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Leif,

    Based on the IPCONFIG output in <post#=398615>post 398615</post#>, we can see that both PCs are using addresses on the same subnet, and they have one IP address each. This leads to the conclusion that both PCs are connected directly to the MN700, with no Internet Cconnection Sharing and no direct connection between them.

    Based on other information that Chuck gave us, and a quick Google to see what functionality the MN700 has, we can surmise that the Modem is connected to the MN700, that the XP PC is connected to the MN700 by a standard Ethernet cable and the Windows 2000 PC is connected Wirelessly to the same MN700 router.

    This MN700 appears to have a "Stateful Packet Inspection" firewall, so what Chuck needs here is a firewall to monitor outgoing connections.

    StuartR

  5. #4
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Stuart (and Leif):

    First, let me thank you both for sticking with an obviously confused and not terribly specific "me"... in it all, I have, if nothing else, again am reminded how very little I know in the overall techno-scheme...

    Will the MN 700 firewall protect both PC's against "intruders"? Why is the protection necessary outbound, if nothing can get in to start with?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Sometimes you invite intruders in. They hitchhike on emails, they are in cookies from web pages, etc. An inbound firewall keeps the outside world from being able to infiltrate from the outside. However, if you already have a trojan or worm on your machine, the outbound firewall keeps it from phoning home from *inside*.
    Charlotte

  7. #6
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Charlotte:

    Ah... But if I'm using, for instance, Norton AV, and have it checking in and out emails, won't that stop 'em?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Not necessarily. If you rely on that, you may have problems because AV doesn't necessarily recognize web browser exploits, etc., not to mention the new viruses that aren't in its signature files yet. The outgoing firewall can stop that stuff as well. I never depend on any one application to protect me. I have a DSL router with a built in firewall. I also run ZoneAlarm to catch the outgoing stuff and anything that might slip by my outer defenses. I run F-Prot AV and I still use Ad-Aware and PestPatrol because no one product can cover all the bases. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  9. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,377
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 595 Times in 532 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Chuck,
    Ditto what Charlotte said about a multi-layer defense. I have a Cable router that has a firewall, run Sygate Personal Firewall, Avast! A/V, Spybot S&D, Ad-Aware, & Spywareblaster. No one product does it all.

    Joe

  10. #9
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Joe:

    I can now run Zone Alarm on the 2K station... I haven't been able to resolve the XP base station yet. I run Norton AV on both stations. So how secure am I?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #10
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Charlotte:

    I already have posted the same question of Joe: since I was having trouble with ZA on the base station, is this most likely a config issue, or is ZA really going to be an ongoing problem?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  12. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    All I can tell you is that I run ZA on WinXP pro attached to a DSL router. However, since I'm not trying to network multiple machines or connect more than one node to the router, I can't be of much help to you.
    Charlotte

  13. #12
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Charlotte:

    OK, thanks. I can't help but think that I've got a solution a breath away... or rather, I cannot believe I am the only person running ZA on an MS router... so the solution has GOT to be configuration, loading order, or some such...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  14. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    I also am running the Sygate Personal Firewall <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> version on my XP Pro machine, connected to a Linksys router, thence to a cable modem. Have not had any problems. I switched from ZoneAlarm when the problems with their version 5 seemed to be pretty widespread, although I had none I could tag as being the "fault" of ZA. You could give it a try on your system to see if the problems return - indicating some other cause (to me) other than the software firewall.

    I'm also curious as to why you refer to the XP machine as the "base station" when multiple machines in a workgroup are (pretty much) "peers" and no one machine is in charge. There is of course a "browse master" but I wouldn't think that would be causing a problem. In my terminology, I would loosely refer to the ROUTER as the base station, since all machines connect there and the router "hands out" the IP addresses to the PCs. Does the XP machine have a second NIC in it?

  15. #14
    Platinum Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    5,583
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts

    Re: Firewalls and the MN700

    Al:

    I'll give it a shot. Thanks.

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •