Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pro/SP1)

    I get the error listed in the attachment when I click Add/remove Windows components". This cropped up a couple of weeks ago and worked before. What caused this and how can it be fixed?

    Harv

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    Unfortunately your screen shot does not show the error. Can you edit the post with a shot that shows it, or post the text of the message itself?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pro/SP1)

    Mark,
    Sorry, I saw the error and was in the midst of fixing it, the error read "Setup was able to open information file netoc.inf. Contact your system administrator. The specific error code is 0x2 at line 2011777033." If you need a graphic, let me know. I am a one man shop.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pro/SP1)

    The only reference I can find to this is in "Overview of the Advanced Networking Pack for Windows XP" <!mskb=817778>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 817778<!/mskb>

    I have it in my I386 "installation directory", and it seems to be a setup file "to install additional components", including IPv6 (which I'm sure you don't want or need!).

    I can't really think why you're getting this error message. Why are you trying to "Add/Remove Windows Components"??

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    Edited by <!profile=WyllyWylly>WyllyWylly<!/profile> to reduce graphic size.

    Sorry, here is the graphic.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    Do you have a file named netoc.inf in your WINDOWSInf directory? This is probably a hidden file, but I would guess that it is not present for some reason.

    You may also consider running CHKDSK to rule out the possibility of disk errors.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    1. If it is hidden, how can I view it?

    2. if it is indeed gone, how can I replace it?

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    Mark,
    netoc.inf is not there. How do I repair this?

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Error with 'Add/remove Windows components' (Pr

    Insert your Windows XP Installation CD. If your CD drive is D: and your Windows folder is C:Windows, click Start | Run and type the following line

    expand.exe D:i386netoc.in_ C:WindowsINFnetoc.inf

    and hit Enter. If your CD drive is E: , change D: to E:
    You can also do it from Command prompt (similar to DOS window). To open Command prompt, use Start menu (Start | All Programs | Accessories | Command prompt) or press Windows and R keys on your keyboard, type CMD and hit Enter. Then type the command line above and you will see the result .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •