Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Ctrl+Enter (XP Prof)

    Forgive me if this has been asked before. Regarding one of the timesaving key combinations in IE where you can type the middle part of a web address eg google and then press Ctrl+Enter whereupon IE will place http://www. on the front and .com on the back. Is it possible to change this so that instead of .com it places .co.uk?

    Any suggestions welcome! Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,582
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Ctrl+Enter (XP Prof)

    If you are comfortable using the Registry Editor look at this key
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftInternet ExplorerMainUrlTemplate

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Ctrl+Enter (XP Prof)

    Interesting - I'd honestly expected that was hard coded.
    Looking at that registry path, there are 4 settings
    1 www.%s.com
    2 www.%s.org
    3 www.%s.net
    4 www.%s.edu

    does anyone know how to access the alterative values?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Ctrl+Enter (XP Prof)

    According to this site in .fr, values of users in other markets may vary. I suspect IE tries them in that order, 1 through whatever, otherwise, what's the point of having more than one???

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Ctrl+Enter (XP Prof)

    I'm sure that I came across an add-in or other browser that allowed you to control what was entered some time ago. but can't for the life of me remember what it was now....

    The list can be added to, and is used by IE's Autoscan:
    JSI Tip 4172. How can I add additional domain types to Internet Explorer Autoscan?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •