Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    I have received a winword application error in the following situations:
    1. Started a new web page in Word and opened Web Tools> selected sound
    2. Same as above>selected movie
    3. Started a new doc in Word and opened Web Tools>selected sound
    Sometimes after making the web tool selection Word will crash. Sometimes the dialog screen will open. Sometimes I receive this message:
    "The instruction at "0x77f580c9" referenced memory at "0x00000000". The memory could not be "read". Click on OK to terminate the program. (the #s vary according to the web tool I selected).
    What is going on here? Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    This is something I've never tried (and I no longer run Word 2000). Do you have all the service packs installed, so that we can try to rule out a bug in Word and focus on possible configuration or interoperability issues?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    I do not have the SPs installed. A while ago I did install SP1 but then noticed it took away some functionality that I liked so I reinstalled my original Office. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    While SP-2 added attachment blocking and the object model guard (to the annoyance of Outlook users everywhere), I don't recall any other severe changes involved with Word 2000 service packs.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    Yes. That is exactly why I re-installed the original Office. In what I do attachments are very important for inside my office and external. Can we proceed troubleshooting my problem knowing I don't have any SPs installed?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    Hopefully someone who has Word 2000 and uses these features will have some advice. My opinion on using Word as a web page editor is "don't!" so I can't really help.

    Added: The attachment blocking doesn't affect normal data files; some people, however, do like to send EXE files, which will be blocked. There are workarounds for the attachment blocking features on the Outlook board.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Garner, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    241
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    I don't use Word as my web editor. I use Frontpage but I was just playing around with Word seeing what it would do with web editing and came upon this problem. The question is can I live without having this resolved - yes, since it is not something I use regularly, but I'm one of those people that don't like unresolved problems! Thanks for trying!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Winword.exe Application Error (2000)

    Hi Pam:
    I have Word 2000 & tried the steps that you listed w/o problem. I do have SR-3 installed, however. I don't know if that makes a difference. You might try starting Word from the command line & see if there are any add-ins, etc. that are interferring. You can go through the steps in <post#=197827>post 197827</post#>.
    Hope this helps,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •