Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Auto-Protect Error

    Recently I upgraded to Norton SystemWorks 2004. What an unexpected disaster! I overcame the conflict with my video driver and vanished A: drive but still cannot get the AntiVirus Auto-Protect feature to work. Whenever I click "Enable" I get "Norton AntiVirus has encountered an internal program error. (4002,517)" The error message directs you to Norton's web site where it walks you through possible solutions. I have gone through all of them and uninstalled and reinstalled the program four or five times. Nothing works.

    I finally called Dell (I have a Precision 330 workstation running Windows 2000) and the less than desirable conclusion their tech support came to was that I should back everything up and re-install windows. Their rationale was that it would take less time to do that than to figure out the actual software cause and fix. They might be right but I also have an inquiring mind that wants to know why this happened.

    After mulling things over it occurred to me that the trojan (Trojan.ByteVerify) that Norton AV found recently may have something to do with this problem. At first I thought it must have gotten in while I was installing software after SysWorks hosed my video driver, when I had AV and ZoneAlarm both disabled during the installation process. But now after searching the web and seeing all the postings in numerous languages that all report the same problem with Auto-Protect just showing up mysteriously, I'm thinking that this might be a trojan that Norton didn't catch until after it was already established on a lot of computers (I get the automatic updates as soon as they are released). And once on the computer, I expect the trojan tweaks registry settings so that Norton can't function properly. Last week when I did a full system scan (manual scanning still functions) Norton did find this trojan but I'm not convinced that it's gone... or if it is, I still have damage to repair and I don't know where to start.

    Does anyone have knowledge of how Trojan.ByteVerify works and would it likely be the reason that I'm not able to get Auto-Protect to work?

    Any help with this is greatly appreciated!
    Virginia

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    I have not heard of this one, and I don't use the Symantec product. So these comments are more general than specific.

    If you suspect that the clean-up was incomplete, you can use the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ActiveX-based HouseCall scanner to get a second opinion. (Because antivirus vendors have not standardized the names of various malware, Trend Micro may detect this trojan as JAVA_BYTEVER.A. Hard to say whether that's the same one or not.)

    After you're confident that the system is clean, you might uninstall SystemWorks, reboot, then reinstall SystemWorks. Hopefully then any problems will have been resolved.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Virginia,
    Have you checked Symantec's explanation of that virus and followed their instuctions for removal exactly? See itHERE

    They also refer you to MS Security Bulletin MS03-011
    for HOW it infects a system.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Thanks for the ideas. I tried to use HouseCall but ran into an error on their web site. After poking around elsewhere on the web I downloaded a free trial version of TDS3 and used it to do an in-depth scan of my system. It appears that Norton already got rid of the infection. I then followed your suggestion and uninstalled/reinstalled System Works, rebooting between each activity, but alas I still have the same problem (I also uninstalled TDS3 first just in case Norton had a problem with it). Maybe the Dell tech was right. Ugh!

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Before you go ahead with drastic steps like reformatting and reinstalling,
    have you tried downloading, installing, updating and running
    Ad-Aware SE Personal
    and
    Spybot - Search & Destroy,
    all easily Googled for?

    It's worth a try, even though it doesn't seem to be necessarily in their area of expertise...

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by ilona53 on 20-Aug-04 16:38. added the quote)</P>Do you have the SW2004 manual? If you do, have you checked pages 295-296?
    "Auto-Protect does not load when I start my computer" :
    If the NAV A-P icon doesn't appear in the systray, A-P is not loaded....3 likely reasons:
    1. you may have started in safe mode...Windows restarts in safe mode if the previous shutdown didn't complete successfully.
    2. NAV may not be configured to start A-P automatically
    3. NAV may not be configured to show the A-P icon in the tray.
    I looked at the Symantec KBase re (4002,519)...you checked that each and every item circled in the screenshots were enabled? You followed each suggestion as listed there?
    Other than uninstalling SW2004 and going into the Registry to find anything with 'Symantec' 'Norton', etc...deleting...rebooting...and then re-installing SW2004...I don't know what else to tell you.
    I upgraded from SW2002 to SW2004...boy! PITA - too many problems, ran slow , bloated, etc. I did a complete uninstall of all Norton 2004 products and went back to 2002! I still have the manuals for both SW2004 & Firewall2004 (and the disks, of course)...collecting dust .
    If nothing from uninstall/re-install works, perhaps something else is causing this...are you sure you removed everything re the old SW version???
    "] just took 2004 off my computer and went back to Norton System Works 2002 and all updates. Norton Anti Virus 2004 might enable Auto Protect at start up it might not(IN Most Cases it would Not). At times I had to re-boot 2 or 3 times to get Auto protect to function properly. Yes it was checked in options. I have never had this problem with the 2002 version. "..this is a quote from a different Forum website that MIGHT give you a clue as to your problem or maybe not <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Thanks Bob for the info you provided. I guess I can't blame the infection on Symantec. After reading this info on the trojan it does look like the infection probably occurred while I had NAV and ZoneAlarm shut down. From the descriptions, the infection may not have actually activated since I didn't observe any of the described symptoms. At least it's gone now as far as I can tell (or as far as either NAV or TDS3 can tell). I guess the infection and the AutoProtect problems I'm having may just be coincidental rather than causal.

    Hopefully as I slog through the MS Security Bulletin and linked articles I will find some little kernel of useful information. None of Symantec's website suggestions helped the AutoProtect issue. I even looked into the possibility that this might be a result of leftovers from SystemWorks 2002, even though the SW2004 manual specifically says you don't need to uninstall SW2002 before installing SW2004. Unfortunately Symantec's Rnav2003 removal tool doesn't work if AntiVirus was installed as part of SystemWorks, and the web site does not even provide manual removal instructions for the combination of SystemWorks 2002 and Windows 2000... not that I'm at all keen on editing the Registry anyway. But it might be a shade better than reinstalling the large number of applications I have on this machine -- that I actually use.

    Any other ideas before I go jump off a cliff?

    Thanks again,
    Virginia

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Did you read this Symantec KB article? I'm posting the printed version as a link.
    http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.n...1113342606?Open

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    > Any other ideas before I go jump off a cliff?

    Turn off Norton Antivirus and use another antivirus product? Seems less likely to cause severe injuries. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Virginia,
    Don't jump !! Don't jump!!
    ----------------------------------------
    I recall something similar that had to do with auto protect that I had a while back. I would go into AV options and check auto protect, exit, then look again and it was UN checked again. I ended up removing NSW completely, using the steps outlined in Removal
    Then reinstalling again and all was fine and dandy again. There was hidden bonus in doing this. I don't want to reveal it here but you will see it if you follow the instructions.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Lonnie, Thanks for all the thoughts and checks. I do have the SystemWorks 2004 manual and checked the pages you referenced. In my case the Auto-Protect icon DOES appear in the System Tray, it's just that it's permanently wearing a red X which means it's not running. Also, the error I get when I try to activate Auto-Protect is slightly different than the one you posted [mine is 4002,517 rather than 4002,519] but I looked at the '519' web site just in case and it says virtually the same thing. Yes, to all the double-checks: I made sure all the same things were selected as shown in the screen shots, I drilled down into each "if this, then that" section of Symantec's web pages and I did everything!!! they suggested to the letter... in fact I've gone through it several times just to be sure I didn't somehow miss something.

    If I were to try deleting everything 'Norton' out of the Registry I would also assume that I would end up wiping my hard drive and reinstalling everything because I'm pretty sure I would screw up something major. However, your suggestion of reverting to SW2002 is a possibility I hadn't considered. It may be more reasonable for the short term than my few remaining options. The reason I upgraded in the first place, though, was because I started seeing things about some of the newest virus definitions not running on the 2002 engine.

    Thanks again for taking the time to help. It's really great that there are so many people willing to lend a hand!

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    John, Thanks for the software suggestions. First I uninstalled SystemWorks, next I loaded and ran Ad-Aware SE Personal and then Spybot S&D, and finally, I reinstalled SW2004. While it was definitely worthwhile to clean my system and add another layer of security, it didn't solve the Auto-Protect problem. But it was worth a try and it will be very useful to have these programs loaded going forward.

    Thanks for taking the time to post these suggestions.
    Virginia

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    After uninstalling Norton's, one needs to go into Windows Explorer and remove all Symantec and Nortons folder and contents. Reboot and then reinstall it. The problem was in one of the files that was left on the hard drive and is still there. This step is one a LOT of people forget or do not do, As for the "registry", I have not needed to clean it out on any machine that I have had this problem with.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    Well, I'm happy to be back using the 2002 versions of both SW & Firewall...fits like an 'old shoe'. I just wish you had better luck w/2004. Why not just go back to 2002? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Auto-Protect Error

    DaveA, thanks for the useful tip. The reason we end-users don't delete the left-behind files is because Symantec doesn't mention it in their instructions. I guess my failing is that I follow their instructions to the letter. It has gotten me into trouble before.

    If the Auto-Protect problem isn't in the registry I must have missed a file somewhere because the problem is still here. First I uninstalled SW2004 via Control Panel as usual. Then I used the instructions from Symantec's web site on "Removing Norton SystemWorks 2004 in Windows XP/2000 after Add/Remove Programs does not work" to locate the leftover folders and files. I booted up in Safe Mode to remove these items. After I finished that I rebooted again and then re-installed SW2004 but at the end of the installation I still got the same error message.

    Thank you and everyone else who has attempted to help me sort this out. Tomorrow I'm going to have a (paid, I'm sure) conversation with Symantec. If I learn the fix from them without having to reinstall my entire system, I will post the information here.

    Virginia

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •