Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    This article on the Supersite for Windows describes how to slipstream SP2 into Windows XP. It uses Nero to create the slipstreamed bootable CD. I don't have Nero (nor any other third party CD creation software). Can I use the built-in native WinXP CD software to create a bootable slipstreamed WixXP CD?

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Paul,
    I'm not sure if the native burner will work in that fashion but you can always download the free trial version of Nero and you will also have to get IsoBuster to do it, again a freebie.

    NERO

    ISOBUSTER

    I've slipstreamed SP1 previously and SP2 Slipstream is on my "things to do list" It's VERY handy to have everything on one CD if you have to reinstall XP.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger PaulB's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    765
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Thanks, Bob. My thoughts exactly. I did download IsoBuster as the article suggests. I'll try downloading Nero.

    I'm still interested in learning if XP can do this with its built-in tools, though.

    Cheers,
    Regards,
    PaulB

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Paul,
    I don't really know if XPs native burner will do it.
    Paul Thurrott's article does allude to it on page 5. where he states, "these steps should be possible in other similar applications". Now if he means XP or just other burners like Roxio or something, he doesn't explain further. My GUESS is that XPs version won't work, but I haven't tried it to be sure.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Paul,
    Just finished slipstreaming SP2 per the method in Paul T's article.
    Everything worked like a champ. Tested as a boot CD and it's ready to go.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    I'm wondering if this happened to anyone else. I also tried the suggested method, except that when I got to the "integrate" part (in the command window) I got an "extracting" files window but never did get the next screen in the tutorial example. What I did get is attached. When I clicked OK it returned me to the command prompt window. For some reason, I don't think the integration proceeded at all. I went ahead with the rest of the burn process anyway, since I wasn't sure, but the resulting CD does not boot and I went browsing around on it, particularly in the I386 folder and can't find any files with a 2004 date except directory names with today's date. Anyone have any ideas what went wrong?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    I have slipstreamed SP-2 a couple of times and it went automatically from extracting the files to updating windows share which took a couple of minutes to run. The dialogs I got were identical to those in the tutorial. It appears in your case the integrate part did not run, could there have been a typo in the command line?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Any possibility you mistyped the integrate switch? My experience of adding an incorrect or unrecognizable switch to a command is that it tends to give a result equivalent to my having put in the /help switch, which might explain why you got the screen you did.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Tony and Leif: I would have sworn that I typed it exactly as he shows, but who knows. Yes, the integrate part did not run. I just tried again, TWICE, and in spite of that Help screen not indicating so, I put a SPACE before the path. No Go, so I did it again, the same way I thought I did the first time and it DID work this time! The integration completed and browsing around in the "new" I386 folder, I can see all the 2004 files, so on to the next step. I guess I did something wrong in the Nero steps also, so I need to try again since my first attempt wasn't integrated anyway. I did notice that when I ran ISOBuster, and selected the boot thing on the left, there are two files on the right (attachment). I wonder if the catalog file is also required?

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Al,
    The only file that Isobuster needed was the .img image file.
    IF you tried to burn on a CD-RW, I would erase it and start over again. The instructions really have to be followed "to the letter" and it is easy to miss or mess up a step. I remember that from the first time I tried to slipstream SP1.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Well, I'm gettin' there slowly but surely. I seem to have burned a good CD but can't get it to boot and I don't think it's the CD. I recently replaced my burner and have the new one connected to a separate PCI IDE card, all by itself. When I set that Sony device as the first boot device in CMOS and boot, I get an error message that flashes by so quickly that I can't read it. I think it says something about NTLDR but I can't stop it to be sure.

    Another topic. When I use ISOBuster to look at the slipstreamed CD I burned, I get the attached. I'm 100% positive that I had Nero set to include the Microsoft Corporation.img file which IS in my root directory, thanks to ISOBuster. Wonder howcome the burned CD has this Ames something-or-other filename? This must not be my day. I'm gonna take the CD to my other machine and see if it boots there...

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Al,
    Haven't the faintest idea what that Ames thing is? It seems like your CD just isn't complete yet. Here is a shot of my SP2 slip CD which I have tried and it works fine.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Sorry about that. I had the wrong folder open on the first screenshot, Here is the Bootable CD like you had open and it does indeed have Ames included. Does yours also have NO emulation enabled in that file?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    From careful squinting, I see it as A r n e s, not A m e s. This page from random Googling says it's the same as Microsoft Corporation.img inside.

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)

    Thanks for that, Jefferson! There was also the answer to the comment I made about the boot error. That's a strange one and I'll have to do some more digging around about it. I thought I've burned bootable CDs before with Nero but it probably hasn't been with this Nero version and certainly not since I just recently bought this CD-RW burner. Is anyone else getting this error after making a boot CD with Nero? (My version of Nero is 6.3.1.17)

    Edited: One thing I forgot to say. Since Jefferson's link provides a regedit to fix the "can't find NTLDR" problem, I assume that means re-burning my CD, since Windows is not yet active when trying to boot a CD. Who knows... I also found out, for the benefit of all Nero users, that there is a version <big>6.3.1.20</big> that says it fixes all compatibility issues with XP's SP2 !

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •