Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    mde database (access 97/access2002)

    We have a mde database which has tables we need to access. Is there any way of doing this?

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    The tables in an MDE database are viewable. You may have to hold down the shift key as you open the database file?

    Only forms, reports, modules etc can't be accessed in an MDE (compiled) MS Access database.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Jayden has already answered at least a part of your question, Pat. Is this a single file database? An mde on a back end isn't much use, because as has been pointed out, the tables are accessible. Compiling an mdb into an mde just compiles the code. If you have further questions or need more help, please post back.
    Charlotte

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Yes it's a single file database.

    Can you access the tables in this single file database? I tried holding the shift key while opening the database but when it opens it shows no tables. I have checked the System and Hidden parameters but to no avail.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Unless the database has been protected somehow, you should be able to see any tables when you open the file, assuming that the tables are local to the mde. If you can't see tables, then I can only assume that the allowbypasskeys property has been set to false and there is code operating to hide them. Do you get the defauolt menu when you hold down the shift key when opening the file?
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    As Jayden and Charlotte have indicated, tables in an .mde database should be viewable, and you should be able to modify the design of the tables. There is no difference between .mdb databases and .mde databases in this respect. Have you tried changing the View option in the database window, for example to Details?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    As you say the tables should viewable, however when you hit the Tables tab it shows no tables at all.

    Are you saying that we should try and see the tables via the view set to details?

    When we can see the tables can we link to these tables from another database?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    In Large Icons view or Small Icons view, all tables might have been dragged out of the visible part of the database window. Tthe presence of scroll bars in the database window would be an indication of that. In List view or Details view, you should be able to see all tables.

    > When we can see the tables can we link to these tables from another database?
    Can you "see" the tables from another database now, if you select File | Get External Data | Link Tables?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    >In Large Icons view or Small Icons view, all tables might have been dragged out of the visible part of the database window<
    I will ring the client tomorrow and see if this is correct?

    We cannot see the tables from another database? Although I didn't go thru File | Get External Data | Link Tables, I will again try this tomorrow.

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    >Do you get the defauolt menu when you hold down the shift key when opening the file?<
    By the default menu do you mean the database window?

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    No, Charlotte meant the default menu bar at the top of the Access window (File, Edit, View, Insert, ...). She wanted to know if Shift was enabled as bypass key. Since you can see the database window (even if you don't see tables), it apparently is.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger GARYPSWANSON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Frederick, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    1,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Patt,

    Interesting thread. Regarding the MDE. Have the client create a new blank access database. Select File, Get External Data, Import and browse to the .MDE file. You should be able to see the tables even if the tables are linked to another database or hidden and import them. If you don't see the tables in this process, then they either don't exist or they have really secured the system well.

    Any chance that user level security is in effect and the password being used does not grant full access to the tables?

    As a test, I turned the shift bypass feature of one of my databases off and then created an .MDE. I could still import the tables out of the .MDE database using the process in the first paragraph.

    Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>
    Regards,

    Gary
    (It's been a while!)

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    On your first point, Hans has suggested this already.

    There is no user level security.

    A thought, how do you unhide tables that have been hidden?

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Patt

    Look in Tools..Options...View
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: mde database (access 97/access2002)

    Thanks John, I knew that one, however, I thought there was another way.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •