Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    Well, now that we've got SP2 installed, let me ask about the new Firewall. I previously ran Zone Alarm (free), with Windows Firewall turned off. I also have a router for an in home network, and gather that acts as a firewall too. My question is, given the improved Windows XP Firewall, do I continue as I have been, with it turned off; or do I run both Zone Alarm and Windows XP Firewall? I assume I don't get rid of Zone Alarm, which has outbound protection.(?).

    kdoc

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    I recommend turning the Windows firewall off and using Zone Alarm. It is best not to run 2 software firewalls due to possible conflicts.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    I agree with Tony, turn off the Windows Firewall and run with ZoneAlarm. Just make sure that you are up to date and have the latest version. It should be 5.1.011.00

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    I agree with Tony & Dave. Turn off the Windows firewall. Running more than one firewall (or A/V) product on one machine can cause problems.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    Thank you all. Windows Firewall is off, and ZA is, indeed, up to date.

    kdoc

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    I agree with Dave for agreeing with Tony. I also agree with Joe for agreeing with Tony & Dave. I would finally like to agree with kcohn for agreeing to follow the advice of Tony, Dave & Joe. I am so glad we are in agreement. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    OK it's not scuttlebutt but I could not resist

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    Tony,
    With all the agreement going on, I'm going to have to find something with which to disagree just to be contrary. <img src=/S/devil.gif border=0 alt=devil width=15 height=15>

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    Are going to have to bring in the Lawyers now?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    Good grief!!!! I hope NOT unless it is pro bono work.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    I disagree, why can't you just be agreeable? <img src=/S/blackteeth.gif border=0 alt=blackteeth width=20 height=20>
    -Mark

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Firewalls (XP SR2)

    A recent presentation on SP2 by a Microsoft representative indicated another reason for using ZoneAlarm or similar: ZA lets you know about OUTBOUND messages, like from spyware "calling home," and the SP2 firewall ignores these.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •