Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Having installed SP2 from the "Network Installation Package" I now note I've lost all speaker sound (CD, internet, DVD, leaving windows). I did go throught the New Windows Media Wizard, basically taking the defaults. I also tried sound with Real Audio: nothing. Any thoughts. I'll be gone for a week, so I won't be able to answer follow-up questions till then. Could this possibly be due to SP2. What do you think of trying a restore point to undo SP2? (I think all the wires are OK).

    kdoc

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Hi: I wrote this post about 10 days ago, hoping someone would have an answer when I returned from a meeting. Nothing turned up. Is there any possibility that installation of SP 2 could have corrupted my sound: I get no online, CD or DVD sound? Any suggestions?

    kdoc

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    How about checking Device Manager (the top part of my attachment) to make sure you have no warning marks. Then, in Control Panel, Sounds, check to make sure nothing has accidently gotten muted, including the Advanced button.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Yo bigaldoc: You nailed it. The Volume was turned all the way down under control panel. Can you tell me one other thing. The volume control has disappeared from my task bar, and when I check on that same Control Panel Sounds to put it on the task bar, it says it isn't installed, and that I should do so with Add Remove Programs. Just how do I get to that installation undar add-remove. I assume it's under the Windows components part, but just where, I don't know.

    Anyway many thanks

    kdoc

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Sorry, I don't know either - I thought it was always there. I looked all through Windows Components and don't see it. Maybe someone else will know.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Let's hope someone knows: It WAS always there, until SP2 and Windows Media Player upgrade install!!

    kdoc

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    To add the volume icon to the taskbar
    Open Sounds and Audio Devices.
    On the Volume tab, under Device volume, select the Place volume icon in the taskbar check box, click Apply, and then click OK.
    Right-click the taskbar, and then click Properties.
    On the Taskbar tab, under Notification area, select the Hide inactive icons check box.
    Click Customize.
    In the Name column, click Volume, in the Behavior column, click Always show, and then click OK.
    On the Taskbar tab, click Apply.
    Note

    To open Sounds and Audio Devices, click Start, point to Settings, click Control Panel, and then double-click Sounds and Audio Devices.

    This doesn't do it for you???
    If not, I would uninstall the sound card and reinstall it after reboot.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Thanks: I've done all of that. I've selected "Always Show." I uninstalled and reinstalled the driver for the sound (had to uninstall and reinstall Dell Resource Center to do that): Now I've still got sound, but no icon on the task bar. Can you or anyone make other suggestions, or tell me where I can access the same thing, but not from the task bar. I can't find it anywhere, and suppose it actually isn't installed. May be a bug in the SP 2 update?? Suggestions.

    kdoc

    kdoc

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Now don't go panic about SP2 and start uninstalling like some folks have. I don't think SP2 has anything to do with the problem, per se. I've got two machines with SP2 and they both have (at my doing) the volume control in the tray. There has to be some other setting in yours that's not right. When you told Bob you've "done all that," did you mean that when you look at Taskbar Properties, you can see the volume icon in there but can't make it show?

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Yes: Under Task Bar--Properties--Customize--"Volume" is seen as a past item, and I've changed it, as suggested, to "Always Show." I've also tried, "Hide when Inactive," and have tried to uncheck "Hide Inactive Icons."

    I might mention one other thing: To update the driver (SoundMax Digital Audio), I had to uninstall under Add Remove Programs something called "Dell Resource CD." (Presumably the original CD which comes with the computer is outdated, so it's updated online by this method. Also, there are several other device drivers under Sound Audio, such as Unimodem Half-Duplex Audio Device (which allows an uninstall), and Media Control Devices (which doesn't), and I didn't touch these.

    P.S. Am not yet paniced [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

    kdoc

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    253
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    OK, solved it. When I went into the Control Panel--Sound Audio Devices--Audio Tab--Folume Button--it said that SndVol32.exe was not there. I then found that file in the XP Installation CD, and expanded/installed it.

    Should I or you post this information under anther Subject title, such as "Loss of Volume Icon"?

    Thank you (all) for your help. I might mention, that Dell is currently telling their customers not to install SP2 because of the numerous bugs they're experiencing, and asking them to do a system restore or Recovery Consule if they can't get things working. (I resisted this suggestion.)

    kdoc

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    <hr>...Should I or you post this information under anther Subject title... <hr>
    I think not. You appropriately put the question in the XP forum. Glad you found the problem. It's confounding how such a thing could happen. I also wonder about Dell's giving such broadbrush advice to their customers, unless they know something NEGATIVE about their machines...

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    ---------------------------
    unless they know something NEGATIVE about their machines...
    ----------------------------
    There's probably more to that statement, than saying there is a bunch of bugs in SP2.
    Good ole' Dell. Their hardware isn't bad but their customized software......Well, I think if I had a Dell, I would go but a new copy of XP, format the HD and install it all new. Of course, then they say it violates their warrantee and don't talk to us anymore.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  14. #14
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    And good luck in getting current drivers for the hardware.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: SP2 and Loss of Sound (SP2)

    Does Dell's warranty say you can't format the hard drive and install a retail or volume licensed copy of XP Pro? (Not saying we do that, just a hypothetical question.)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •