Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SP2 - info seek (XP / SP2)

    Having the advantage of broadband I downloaded the 270mg file. All is working fine. However, if disaster struck such as a failed HD what steps are necessary to become operational again in terms of loading the operating system only. Is athe process - load the originial supplied disc and then load the sp2 via copied download and in doing so avoid sp1 updates via the web. Any advice or leads would be appreciated.
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 - info seek (XP / SP2)

    Ya know, I hadn't thought about that YET, but I think you've surmised the process correctly. I haven't yet seen anyone talking about "slipstreaming" the original XP and SP2, and I've not tried it so I don't know if it'll be possible.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 - info seek (XP / SP2)

    Thanks for the quick response... anyone out there with a spare computer and time to kill ...might like to test the water and report back, heres hoping!
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 - info seek (XP / SP2)

    >> I haven't yet seen anyone talking about "slipstreaming" the original XP and SP2, and I've not tried it so I don't know if it'll be possible.

    Try <!post=Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro),400622>Slipstreaming SP2 (Win XP Pro)<!/post>

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 - info seek (XP / SP2)

    Yup, ya got me, Leif. Right after I made that post, I thought I'd go looking and found that thread. OK Nero, let's get out a blank disk or two and have at it...Maybe tomorrow...

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Glen Innes, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks Folks!

    Great references guys and it works too!
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> <img src=/S/flags/Australia.gif border=0 alt=Australia width=30 height=18>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •