Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Converted drives to NTFS and am having problems

    Hi,
    Thanks, again, to everyone who assisted me with the problems I was having last week with my computer. You are all the greatest! <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>
    I am having a problem with Corel Draw 9 that I did not have before I changed to NTFS; apparently you must be a power user to use Corel Draw under NTFS ( I know that is not true for FAT32.) The problem is that being a power user doesn't work; the account has to be an administrator and even then wierd errors are occurring.
    Do I need to convert back to FAT32? Suggestions, anyone?

    A thousand thanks!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    What operating system?
    Can you explain 'doesn't work' a bit more? What exactly are the sysmptoms?
    Does this at tek-tips.com help?

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    Good find Lief !! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    What question did you pose to Google (or did you just know that source ??) to find that page ??? I tried "Corel Draw 9 & NTFS" and "Corel Draw 9" and came up with naught. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    "coreldraw ntfs permissions" - which seemed to cover the three main arguments!

    (Strangely, 'coreldraw' as one word seemed more effective than two separate words...)

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    Hi Leif,
    The operating system is XP Pro.
    The first error is: Invalid Custom Directory specified in corelapp.ini.
    The second error is: There was a problem reading the file D:/Page9/Sleigh Platform bed scene.pdf. - a disk we use all the time without problems.
    The third error was something about being unable to write; disk full??

    Thank you for that link - I have saved it as a favorite! <img src=/S/clever.gif border=0 alt=clever width=15 height=15> I have posted there also. BTW: CorelDraw is one word <img src=/S/exclamation.gif border=0 alt=exclamation width=15 height=15>
    Thanks so much.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    Thanks for that. <img src=/S/clever.gif border=0 alt=clever width=15 height=15> But I see from the previous post that we both missed Why it works best when written as one word. 'Cause it IS one word. <img src=/S/bingo.gif border=0 alt=bingo width=15 height=22>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    Have you run chkdsk since converting the file system?
    <UL><LI>Error #1: Does the directory exist? If it does, rename it and create a new, identically named directory to replace it and see what happens.
    <LI>Error #2: Can you open the PDF file in Acrobat Reader successfully? You need to identify whether the file is corrupt or not.
    <LI>Error #3: How much free space is available on the disk specified in the error?[/list]
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Converted drives to NTFS and am having problem

    Hi Mark,
    It's been 14 hours since I received your suggestions and as I went down the list to check each one . . . <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> I heard a 'pop' and the power supply died. It took me until now to drive 60 miles round trip for a friend to install an extra he had and to come back and replug all the wires.
    So, now, I finally got to your suggestions - Mark, you have most definitely saved the day here. Your assistance is so greatly appreciated. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> <img src=/S/bravo.gif border=0 alt=bravo width=16 height=30> <img src=/S/hailpraise.gif border=0 alt=hailpraise width=27 height=22> I could go on . . .
    Error#1 Renaming the directory worked perfectly and also got rid of error #2 which was frustrating because the file does open with Acrobat. Error #3 was me. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I had created a group of zip files that pretty much filled up the C drive; the work in Corel wasn't able to be saved. On the way to my friend's house I stopped at Best Buy and bought a Western Digital 160 Gig internal hard drive for $120 (with a $60 rebate) so I will not have that same problem (for a while at least . . .)

    Thanks, Mark!

    Cherie <img src=/S/doze.gif border=0 alt=doze width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •