Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Security

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Security

    I have a interesting problem for you all.
    I have a computer where I have to switch network cards.
    1 card is for the shop network
    the other card is also for the shop network but also has access to the internet
    we are using a hardware firewall that has the MAC address of the second card.

    As you can see this is a pain but we have to do this because we do not want people to have access to the internet at nights..... Is there any way of just using the second network card and mabe putting a software firewall (with password protection) on the computer to only let there be access to the internet during specific times or people with the firewall password.

    If anybody know a good way to solve this I thank you....

  2. #2
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Juneau, Alaska, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security

    Is it necessary to use TCP/IP on the shop network? I routinely set up my networks with File & Printer Sharing bound to IPX/SPX & use TCP/IP only for Internet access. That works well as long as all networked applications support IPX/SPX (I ran into one that didn't a few months back & I'm still finishing up the loose ends on that re-configuration.)

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security

    I only wish I could switch to IPX but we use SW that has to have TCP/IP accross the network

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Nashville, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security

    Can you set up differant users' profiles so that only the people you want to have internet access have it and the other profiles do not? I was thinking of log on procedures. One profile is set up to access the internet and the other one (s) are set up not too. Maybe I misunderstood your problem if so - so sorry...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Security

    Why not physically disconnect the modem from the Internet link and take it home with you?

    StuartR

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security

    Can because user have rights to what they can access on the server... set up by managment and are not willing to add more user rights... <img src=/S/argue.gif border=0 alt=argue width=50 height=25>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security

    Still used by office staff at night......

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •