Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    XP and marcos (XP)

    We just started using XP. When we open a .doc file we have a llittle window
    that opens that says, "This document contains macros." Trying to close all
    of the little "macro" windows to get to the file is a major problem. We do
    not , knowingly, have any macros in our .doc files. And another window that
    says, "This file is being used. Do you want to make a copy?" Are these two
    problems related? What do I need to do to stop these little windows from
    popping up?
    Thank you for your time.
    WES

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and macros (XP)

    Is this Microsoft Word?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and macros (XP)

    Yes
    WIN XP SP-1 and Word for Windows 97.
    WES

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and macros (XP)

    I suspect this may be more Word related and will shift it to the Word forum...

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and marcos (XP)

    Hi Wes:
    You may have two separate problems. With respect to the macros, you can go to Tools/Macros/Macros & then set the security to medium. I wouldn't set it to low, but a high setting results in this message if the document ever contained macros. Of course, I would use an up to date anti virus program to check it also, especially if you don't know why you're getting this message. If you've ever had a module in the document & you're macro protection is set to high, you'll get the message.

    Regarding the "file in use" message, if you are on a network, you may get this message if someone else opens the file first. However, if Word crashes, it also leaves behind temp files (the owner file) that make Word think the file is in use. Delete your temp files. You can find instructions on this in the first step of <post#=197827>post 197827</post#>.
    Hope this helps,

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: XP and marcos (XP)

    I found a Thesaurus macro installed and it must have gone bad. I removed it and all is well.
    Thank you for taking time to answer my question. I have no knowledge of "macros" and I did not know where to look or what to do to correct the problem. You helped me immensely. Thank you for the help.
    WES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •