Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    Like many people I suspect, I've got Windows Update set to download 'semi-automatically'., i.e., the symbol in my System Tray tells me a download is available, I click the icon, a box appears telling me what it is and asking whether I'd like to proceed. If I do, I click the download button, everything disappears, sometime later a box appears again telling me the download is now ready to install, I click install and the box disappears. End of story.

    Normally of course, these downloads are small enough not to bother with as I've got broadband, but SP2 is a different animal altogether. Because it's a huge beast, it'd be nice to know what's the size of the d/load, estimated time etc. etc. Does anyone know if you can do this?

    Mike

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    Mike

    My download was 75 MB. I actually allowed it to download AND update automagically, and the whole thing finished in 44 mins. I have cable broadband at 1.5 Mbps (no, NOT T1 - this is the UK!).

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    John,

    I'm in the UK too - got broadband. I think SP2 is now on my machine. I say this because there were only two ways of checking that I could think of:

    1] Explorer/Help/About says 'Version 5.1(Build 2600.xpsp2.030422-1633 Service Pack 1)
    2] Control Panel/Add/Remove programs' lists 16 'Windows XP Hotfixes (SP2) Qxxxxx's'!!

    Are there any others?

    My original question still stands though - it would have been nice to actually monitor the d/load!!

    Mike

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    You can also use "System Properties"

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    Mike,

    Why not order the SP2 CD from Microsoft ?? I'd guess that you could pick and choose the updates and patches you want from the CD before installing them. But it would be comforting to know that you have the entire Service Pack on hand should anything happen in the future and you need to reinstall the thing again.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    Mike

    Why on earth would you want to monitor it? Surely all Microsoft Hot Fixes, of any size, have never been know to fail! <img src=/S/innocent.gif border=0 alt=innocent width=20 height=20>

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Is it possible to monitor Windows Update? (XP Pro - SR1)

    Mike,
    You do not have SP-2. Explorer Help | About would say Service Pack 2. The Hotfixes are pre SP-2 that are probably in SP-2. You can download the full version of sp-2 here: Service Pack 2 Network Installation . Don't let the name scare you. It is just Microsoft's way of naming the full service pack. It is 270 MB which should not be a problem if you have broadband.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •