2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Automatically Generate Subtotals (Excel 2000/XP)

Okay, attached is a variation of the same sheet I've been working on for a couple months, now. You've helped me group sheets so updates could be done on the entire workbook and someone figured out a way to automatically group and ungroup the rows based on the entries in the first four columns. Someone helped me add project numbers to the sister sheet of the one I've attached. And yet someone else helped me get the lines and shading to appear automatically.

All of that is disabled in the attached. What I'm looking for now is a formula that I can put in the cells that are currently displayed in red that will automatically pick up the subtotal range, so that it extends from the first cell below the subtotal cell to the first cell above the next subtotal (or the bottom of the sheet). For example, the formula in the first red cell is =SUBTOTAL(9,R[1]C:R[10]C). I need to figure out a way for Excel to know that "10" is the last row of this range. I was thinking some combination of offsets and isblanks or something like that might automatically do it.

Because things are also happening via code when the user enters a phase number (like the shading being applied), it might also be possible to do this via code when the phase row is added. Many thanks!

--Karyl

Thanks

Re: Automatically Generate Subtotals (Excel 2000/XP)

This will work if you add the "next" group number at the end of the data (eg put 4 in row 25 of column 1)
    =SUM(INDIRECT(ADDRESS(MATCH(RC1,C1)+1,COLUMN())&": "&ADDRESS(MATCH(RC1+1,C1)-1,COLUMN())))

If you don't want to add the next group number, it will be much more complicated to check for the ISNA:
    =SUM(INDIRECT(ADDRESS(MATCH(RC1,C1,0)+1,COLUMN())& ":"&ADDRESS(IF(ISNA(MATCH(RC1+1,C1,0)),COUNTA(C5), MATCH(RC1+1,C1,0)-1),COLUMN())))