Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    After installing SP2 with no problems, when I try to access the Internet or email via my high speed ComCast connection, I can't get out unless I turn off my Windows Firewall. After I quit my session, I have to remember to enable the Windows Firewall again. According to ComCast, I must call Microsoft to remedy this situation. Is there a way to allow safe access through my NIC card/ComCast modem (single user, not networked)?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    Have you done any Googling for terms like comcast modem sp2 or hunted in any "user support forums" that Comcast might have?

    If you have no success there, I'd Install an alternative software firewall (free or buy) and then turn off the Windows Firewall.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    Thanks, John, for the suggestions. I Googled with 5,000 or more hits and couldn't find my answer before my patience ran out. I posted the question to Comcast support after reviewing their FAQs. Looks like Zone Alarm Pro is in my future.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    The Windows Firewall has an option to permit some inbound traffic. Does it let you specify Comcast by domain or IP address? I guess it's a bit of work collecting the information you would need to do that... Yes, another firewall might be the best strategy.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    Don't know, will investigate tonight (problem is on my home computer).

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    I'd put the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> version of ZoneAlarm in my NEAR future (like, NOW) and shut off Windows poor excuse for a firewall before a trojan gets in and calls home !! Windows firewall, as we all know, provides NO outbound protection !! At least with ZA you will be covered both ways and you can then ponder the need for the Pro version.

    Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    233
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    Thanks, Doc. Will be upgrading to Zone Alarm Pro this weekend.

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    Be careful of compatibility issues between ZoneAlarm Pro v5.0 (I think ???) and SP2. I seem to recall there was some problems between the two that have yet to be worked out. I have not, though, heard similar reports about the free version. I'll investigate and post back.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Firewall and ComCast (Windows XP SP2)

    If you are running ZA version 5.1.011.000 or better then there will be NO conflicts running SP2. I now have these two running on 5 machines.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •