Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    jasonbailey
    Guest

    Possible Bug report here??

    Hi,
    Access 2000 SR1
    Is this the place to discuss possible bugs?

    1. Printing a form based on a query tends to produce the same field many times

    2. The show all Relationships as well as the Show Direct Relationships (<A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q114/2/13.asp>http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/q114/2/13.asp</A>) button appears not to do anything.

    These two occurrences have only occurred for databases given to me by others (i.e. they may be using versions of Access 2000 without Service Packs)

    Has anyone else had similar?
    Regards
    Jason

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    This is the place to discuss everything! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> However, you have to be specific about what you're discussing, especially if you want to determine whether it's a possible bug. Many times, "bugs" turn out to be something that is simply unfamiliar to a particular individual, so it is important to state why you think the behavior consitutes a bug. And it's no fair to list items that Microsoft has already identified unless you have a particular reason for doing so.

    Try stating a detailed description of the behavior you've seen AND the behavior you expected. Include the things you've tried to make it work. Include all the steps leading up to the unexpected behavior (i.e., opened form, navigated through x records, clicked on button to ..., etc.). Include information on the exact versions of MDAC (ADO) and Access/Jet, including Office service releases and Jet service packs and MDAC versions. You made a start on that, but you should also include notes on other applications, like Visual Basic and SQL Server, that can impact Access behavior.

    After that, Q and A can fill in more details until there is an entirely clear description of the problem and it can be reproduced on other machines. At that point, we can start calling it a probable bug or find an explanation/answer to the problem.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    jasonbailey
    Guest

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    Thanks Charlotte. I'm not saying it's a bug but a feature.
    Here goes...
    I'm using Access 2000 SR1 (I've not added any further service packs/releases/updates as yet). I'm often sent databases via email,cd, floppy .

    Two Access 2000 (versions unknown) databases have been given to me 1 on floppy disk and 1 on CD (i.e. I did not create them on my PC). I am unable to view *all* relationships, unless I use print preview.
    I went to the Microsoft Website and found (<A target="_blank" HREF=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q114/2/13.asp>http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/ar...s/q114/2/13.asp</A>) that a bug has been reported for the *direct relationships button*. I attempted to use the workaround described for the *direct relationships button* (clearing the layout) to solve for my *all relationships* button. It did not work. I am unable to view/show all relationships unless I select each table (In relationships view) and click on the Show Direct Relationships. If I close the relationships window and re-open the they disappear and I have to repeat the process. The Direct Relationships button appears to be recognised as a bug, but *not* the *show all relationships* button. (I thought it was fair to mention another similar but not the same type of bug).

    The only way I seem to reproduce it is by receiving a database rather than creating it. If nobody else repeats this I'll put it down to my bad luck.

    I'm also having problems with forms and printing (again I've found similar reports at Microsoft but not exactly the same) I'll investigate further.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    Please keep sharing them with the Lounge. Some of them may have been seen by others as well and we can pool our experiences.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    Jason,

    your question about forms & printing reminds me of something similar. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    I have a form with course data. It has a subform with the students and exam notes. We wanted to have a list printed, so I said, just print out the form. Well, the form got printed - but the printing wouldn't stop. The whole form including subform was printed again and again - I don't know how many times, I just pulled out the paper tray and switched off the printer at some time. This I could reproduce on another PC with another printer, so it must be Access.

    If you are experiencing something similar, I'll have to take some time to experiment a bit. I cannot remember using the Access print command for a form before.

    O yes, this happened in Access 95 - it seems, the bug, if it is one, has a looong life <img src=/S/spook.gif border=0 alt=spook width=15 height=15>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    Emilia,

    That isn't a bug. Access is doing exactly what it was asked to do, which is printing the form. You have to keep in mind that a form is a window into data, so unless you have a recordset with only a single record in it, Access will keep printing the form until it prints every record in it.

    Computers and software in general are stupid. They don't understand what you actually want, so they do what you tell them. It's up to the programmer/user to tell the computer/software what is actually wanted and the method is sometimes less than obvious.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    30
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    Charlotte,

    This sounds logical, and I used the command as a quick-and-dirty method to print various simple continuos forms. The point was, Access kept printing the same record in the main form with the same record set in the subform, so that was indeed not very obvious :-). The main form is opened per VB with WhereCondition set, so it (apparently?) has one record.

    However, I'll keep to that command button printing the data per VB :-)

    Sorry for answering so late - I had problems with my left hand sinew (don't know if it's the right translation).

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Possible Bug report here??

    It was tripping on the records in the subform. You actually have a record in the parent for each record in the subform, it's just the same record over and over.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •