Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combining Databases (2k)

    I just combined two of my databases, a small one into a large one, over the weekend. It seemed to work ok, with just a few bugs, but I was obviously mistaken. for some reason, data entered into one of the imported forms doesn't update in its respective linked table. so when i close the form and re-open it, the same data that should have been entered, doesn't exist! i checked the control source of the form but that doesn't seem to be it. I really don't know what it could be, any suggestions?
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    You say that data entered into the form aren't visible when you close and reopen the form. Have you checked whether the data have been stored in the table behind the form?

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    Hans, its a bit weird. I just entered test data before you replied, and that data was in the table. But i've since added more test data that doesn't seem to be appearing in the back end now. I don't get whats happening.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    Do you get any error messages after entering a new record, when you move to another record or close the form?
    Is this a main form or a subform?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    Hans, I've since tried making a new form based off the same table and it seems to work fine. I can enter data and it stays there when i come back to it.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    It is a regular form, and I don't get any errors.
    <img src=/w3timages/blueline.gif width=33% height=2>
    <big>John</big>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combining Databases (2k)

    OK, let's hope it stays that way <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •