Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Desktops Galore (SP2)

    Anyone else seeing this goofy behavior in Windows Explorer after installing Service Pack 2? Near as I can tell, it happens when an open Explorer window is refreshed or resized, but I have not been able to find a consistent behavior pattern.
    -Mark

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Desktops Galore (SP2)

    No, but what happens when you select one of these?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Desktops Galore (SP2)

    That's the fun part. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19> The top three are My Computer, My Network Places, and Recycle Bin respectively. The next ten are folders that exist on the desktop, and clicking on one of them in the left pane shows the contents of whichever folder it may be on the right. The last Desktop icon is actually the desktop. Strange.

    What appears to be happening is that every folder and "standard" desktop icon takes on the name Desktop, but behaves as it would with the proper name. Normally, folders on the desktop would appear as a subset of the desktop icon in Explorer, but in the screen shot I posted, they have migrated to the top level as well as being child folders of the actual desktop.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Desktops Galore (SP2)

    I don't have SP2 yet, but I noticed the other day when working with a CD that every time I opened a sub-folder it would get duplicated to a new part of the folder tree. Pressing F5 corrected the display temporarily, but it kept coming back. No idea what causes this; I did install the GDI+ patch. ???

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Desktops Galore (SP2)

    It's probably just one of the new "undocumented" Features of SP2. <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> Nothing to worry about !! <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •