Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Insistent dial-up problem

    I was not sure which forum to post this in but here's my story and I am sticking to it!. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I was involved with aid to a friend with a windows 98 box (not sure of the flavor) yesterday evening. Her video card was fading fast, so we replaced it and restored order to the display! Whew! But she is having another difficulty, that I did not find a cure for


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Insistent dial-up problem

    I don't have a modem any longer so I can't say for sure, but one place you might look is the Connections tab of Internet Options, either via Control Panel or Internet Explorer. See if there is a radio button checked concerning whether to dial or not.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insistent dial-up problem

    Hi Al,

    I had looked at the setting last night and remember that it did have "Always dial my default connections" selected. I guess I thought it would only do this "choice" when Internet Explorer was opened up - not automatically, when the computer was booted? We can try the "never dial a connection" and see if that makes a difference!! Thanks!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Insistent dial-up problem

    Any application which starts and 'phones' home can cause this behavior. Any app which automatically checks for updates or some malware. Since you've already checked for amlware I suspect the former. There are other locations that 'run' and 'run once' which can automatically start programs. Check out Sysinternals Autoruns 5.1 for Win98.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Insistent dial-up problem

    Skitterbug

    Joe's suggestion is one I would have made myself, if he hadn't have got there first!! <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>

    The other thing that occurs to me relates to the problem where you try to load a web page containing a graphic, and if the graphic is not on the PC then it tries to dial up the relevant website to download it.

    It doesn't sound exactly like your situation, though.

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insistent dial-up problem

    Hi Al,

    Just wanted to let you know that I sent this information along to my friend. I am certain she had her Internet Connection set to "always dial my connection" so maybe changing it to "never dial...." will make a difference. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Hi Joe and John,

    I will download a copy of this application and have it handy if the above change doesn't work for her!! Besides, I want to "play a bit" with it myself and see what it will do!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> everyone for your expert help!! I appreciate it very much!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •