Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Printing across multiple labels

    I have variable amount of text to be printed on labels. So my table has fixed cell height and width.

    Sometimes there is only a single line to print. But sometimes there are more lines than can fit on a single label. Word just truncates it. Can I force it to go to the next label?

    Way back in the DOS versions of Word, with tractor-feed labels, I used to set the Page Length to the height of the label, but every since Windows and laser printers, this doesn't work.

    Thanks
    Ruth

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    Hi Ruth,
    Is this strictly a number-of-lines issue, or does line length factor in as well?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    Line length only matters because it wraps around. I have a one line "heading" and then a paragraph (or 2 or more) of "explanation". If the paragraph is long then it spill over more lines than available in the label.
    Ruth

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    The quick and dirty solution (if you can afford to waste labels) might be to resize the cells in your table so that each cell actually corresponds to two physical labels. If your label sheet has spaces between each label, this would get a little tricky. I

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    Any way you could use columns?

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    I could set the number of columns equal to the number of labels in a row, but I can't see how to get the vertical separation.

    Ruth

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    The trouble is that although it's mostly a single label, or sometimes two label, it could also be 3 labels long.

    I don't have gaps between the labels because I'm using laser labels. I tried just having variable length cells, which prints the information over two labels (sometimes with one line half on each label - but that could have been fixed by line spacing), but then following labels do not get put onto separate labels.

    I'm not sure what you mean about non-printing section breaks ??

    My current slow-and-dirty solution is to inspect them all and copy and paste the extra text onto separate labels and then sort them out later.

    Ruth

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    How are you entering the data?
    As someone who barely uses Word for much more than composing faxes, I'm struggling a bit <img src=/S/baby.gif border=0 alt=baby width=15 height=15> to be of more use. But, I could do with a solution for something similar myself.
    Section breaks (?) will give you separation, but not automatically sized for the row height.
    For a manual visual guide for the label height, maybe a drawn vertical line very close to the edge of the paper (outside the print area) for each label?
    ?

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    I shouldn't have shot from hip with "section breaks." I think what I was after was anchoring a fake graphic (maybe just white space)that the text would wrap around. Anyhow, it's a moot point, since your labels are contiguous and you don't have to make text skip from one to the other.

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    I'm now thinking of using a Mail Merge. I'll have about 5 fields. Two or 3 of them would be short and probably all fit on a single line. The other couple could be either very short or very long and this is where my problem is.

    Maybe I can do something in the Merge to say if the length is too long, then split onto next label??
    Ruth

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Charles Kenyon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    2,049
    Thanks
    124
    Thanked 119 Times in 116 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    If you don't have too many of these, you could

    1) Have the labels generate as a new document rather than merging to the printer.

    2) Cut the problem ones and paste them at the end, and

    3) Use the Tables and Borders Toolbar to merge cells. Select two adjoining cells and click on the merge button - and you'll have one cell using the space formerly occupied by the two. (Labels are just tables.)
    Charles Kyle Kenyon
    Madison, Wisconsin

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Printing across multiple labels

    That's basically what I do at the moment, except that since the labels are truncated, it's not easy to identify the problem ones, and to select the "invisible" text to paste it into the adjoining label.
    What I'd really like is some automatic/programatic way to do it at the time of the merge (which I always do to a document first already).
    Thanks
    Ruth

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiple labels - This should do it

    Hi Again Ruth,

    I agree about using Excel and a mail merge. I've been working on a related problem (dynamically adjusting font size as a function of text length so that varying amounts of text will be printed as large as possible yet still fit on the SAME label) for some time now. *Quite* some time now, since this is my first-ever Excel project. A modification of what I've done so far should give you a workable solution.

    Set each group of text (Header and/or one or more paragraphs that you want to fit on one or more consecutive labels) up as a record in an Excel list, then add variables which return the number of characters in the field using the LEN(text) function. Referencing the length variable in the Main document can drive choices based on text length.

    Depending on how fine a control you want, you may be able to get away with returning one length function for each paragraph of text. I'm guessing that your paragraphs are long enough and your labels are small enough that inconsistencies caused by line wrapping will make it hard to predict just what length of paragraph-level (or even sentence-level) text strings will fit on a label. So, the following is based on parsing the text into individual words and setting up a separate field for each (Wrd1, Wrd2, Wrd3

  14. #14
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multiple labels - This should do it

    thanks, I'll digest it and give it a go
    ruth

  15. #15
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ooops

    I just realized that I forgot to provide for spacing between words in the solution above (my labels print subdirectory names and use backslashes to separate them).

    You could embed spaces in the Concatenate function between each candidate field, but then you'd get a string of spaces at the end of the sentences (I don't know if Word would ignore these or wrap them during the merge). You would need some type of sentence cleaner-upper that would trim extra blanks off the end.

    Also, provision would have to be made earlier in the process for including spaces in the SumLen Variables that compare against LineCharLimit (e.g. SumLen2 = Len1+1 + Len2, SumLen3 = SumLen2 + 1 + Len3,...)

    On the Word end, I forgot to mention the necessity of taking out the {Next Record} field in the cells for which you change the field names to Ln5 and up.

    Finally, I've just learned that it's important to have all your merge fields on the first worksheet, so you may want to put the source text and various computational fields on a second or third worksheet.

    details, details.

    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •