Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    Has anyone else experienced link-clicking that comes up with a "Cannot find" window in Firefox, but then on the 3rd or 4th try, it will, or entering it in IE works? So the link itsekf is OK, just somehow the association with FF seems to go wrong?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow

    With high hope for the future, no prediction is ventured.
    -- Abraham Lincoln
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    When you say window.... if you get a small notice with just an OK button, this usually indicates that FF timed out waiting for the web site. Try reloading. If you get a larger dialog saying something about locating the link browser, search this board for solutions.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    Jefferson:

    It is a "typical" win2k error message box... just like you get when IE can't find a link...

    ??

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    What is the exact text of the error message(s) that you are seeing? On occasion, I encounter what Jefferson described - a time-out - which results in the message "{site} could not be found. Please check the name and try again." Most often this is the result of a temporary problem reaching the site, and is not specific to the browser.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    Mark:

    It *feels* like a time out...

    But if I switch *immediately* to IE, the site comes up fine...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    But what is the message you are seeing? Is it a pop-up alert or not, and what is the wording?
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    Mark:

    I can't *specifically* tell you what it said... it was exactly like the IE alert if your internet connection is down and it cannot connect at all...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    The internet's a busy place and sometimes "stuff" happens! I use Mozilla and occasionally get messages like "Document contains no data" and immediately clicking on the link again brings up the requested page. Why don't you wait until the next time it happens and shoot a screenshot of the message window so someone can advise you?

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Links not working (Firefox 1.0PR)

    Al:

    That sounds like a plan...

    Thnaks.
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •