Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    I am attempting to reformat a PC within XP Pro. From within Windows I am running the re-install routine and early in the questions it asked for the product key and it keeps saying that it's not valid. Is it because it already has XP on it from a different install CD code?

    I've always reformated other PC's from a bootable floppy. Is that best? Is there a way to find out in regedit or somewhere what the product key was that was used with the original install?

    --KZ

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    If you don't already have a copy, download the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> Belarc Advisor. There is a Software Licenses section that should give you key of the installed copy. Personally, if you're starting fresh, I always prefer to "prepare" a hard drive with a Win98SE boot floppy simply because it has the ability to deal with larger disks in FAT32 than WinXP does. Even if you plan to install in NTFS, you can tell the installer that when you successfully get into the install process. I think it IS objecting because of the already installed key, but I'm not sure.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    Thanks. I'll give that a shot. That's good to know.

    I'll go the "long road" and format using a boot floppy I guess.

    --Ken

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    If Windows doesn't accept CD key, it is NOT IT'S KEY. That means, you have OEM version key and regular installation CD (or vice versa), or your key is for XP Home Edition, or simple this is Office, not Windows XP key! Check your key once again - where the sticker with your key is? If it is on your computer chassis, this is OEM key...
    Second, when you boot your computer from your Windows installation CD, Setup has the same capabilities as good old fdisk command. You can create and destroy partitions, format them in FAT32 or NTFS and do something that is known as "quick format". Simply you can do everything from one place. BTW, you can do the same things from inside Windows (except boot - when your Windows folder is - and System - when ntldr file is - partitions) From Control Panel | Administrative Tools | Computer management | Disk Management).

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    Edited by Bigaldoc to add URL code.[/i] See the Quick Guide or 1-Click TagPanel.

    Try going here and download the small tool, it will give you the Product Key. It worked for me I hope it does the same for you.

    MVPS.ORG
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Allen, Texas, USA
    Posts
    727
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    Great information. I got it going...thanks!

    --KZ

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    I'm really glad it worked for you. I've received so much support that I was glad to help someone else.
    Good luck with the rest of your computing expierience. Ya'll come back real soon, ya hear (smile).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    For info ViewKeyXP does not work with Windows XP SP-2, Magical Jelly Bean Keyfinder can be used instead.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    Thanks Tony for the info. I have used Magical Jelly Bean too, but the other seems to have options to see keys for more Windows products. That's why I suggested it.

    As for Windows XP Sp2, I have no intention of using it for a long, long time. I've read about too many problems people are having that installed it. More problems is one thing I don't want nor need. But, I will keep your info. in mind in case I lose my head and get SP2.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    My opinion of SP-2 must be the opposite. I recommend installing it asap.

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    If I was as smart as you and had your access to most fixes, I would too, but since I'm not and I don't I'll leave that to the brainy people like you. (smile).
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Won't take product key (XP Pro)

    I felt the same - I have waited a bit before applying SP2 BUT............I finally did! And I am happy to say, no apparent problems. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I used the freebie disk rather then waiting and waiting on my dial-up for the download. All is well in Skitterbug land!!

    ps: And you know, If you do have troubles, there will be lots of help here in our Lounge to fix it up again!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •