Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Update question (XP SP1)

    In Sept. I researched the recommended updates to my SP1 (Am not considering going to SP2 for quite awhile)...Felt comfortable with installing 7 updates...Did one per day in the following order: First-KB842773...KB839643...KB840315...KB841873...KB8396 45...KB823353...KB867801-last....All 7 recorded as Successful in the Update History.....
    I started noticing a sluggishness in general--nothing in particular---just slow....So, I started investigating as much as I could for the novice that I am....Here's what I found:
    1. The Update history shows ALL Successful
    2. The ADD/REMOVE programs does NOT list the last 2 updates as being done (KB823353 and KB867801)
    3. The WINDOWS list doesn't show either of these as installed either...
    4. System Restore shows the first 4 KBs as installed
    5. System Restore shows the 5th KB (839645) as installed BUT it has a second line of description --"Software Distribution Service 2.0" --as being installed also...This seems to be where the problem starts..
    6. System Restore shows --"Software Distribution Service 2.0"--as the ONLY description of what was installed on the following 2 days when the last 2 KBs (KB823353 and KB867801) should have been done...So, that says to me whatever this "Software Distribution Service 2.0" is was installed 3 times...Right...???
    ***Does anyone know what this--"Software Distribution Service 2.0"--is...???....
    ***Does anyone have a suggestion about how to remedy this...???.......
    ***Will a System Restore do it...???...Or do I have to take it all the way back to KB839645...???
    Any / all suggestions and information greatly appreciated....Thanx.......
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Find and download a small program called Belarc Advisor. It will give you all the information you are seeking and more.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Why NOT go to SP2?
    You are going to need to sooner than you think. Most new updates will require it.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Oh, I will eventually....I've ordered the SP2 disc but, usually give updates a bit of time to get ironed out etc before jumping....I'm still very much the novice compared to most and so far erroring on the side of caution (and investigation) has kept me up and running .....Your vote for SP2 along with the increasing # of positive installations that are now being reported reassures me......Thanx ......Carol
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Thanx for the reference re Belarc Advisor...Will look into it......I appreciate your time
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Hi Carol,

    Software Distribution Service is Automatic Update and Windows Update software. It's OK and necessary !!

    You said that the slowdown issue began when you had installed 7 of the updates from MS. Do you use the DiskCleanup utility (Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > DiskCleanup) to clear out your Temporary Internet folder. If not, you shoud do this first. Then, if you don't do it regularly (like once a week if you are a heavy user), I would defragment the HD (Start > All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Disk Defragmenter). This can take over an hour, but is worth the time. I'd try these two things first and then post back with the results. If that doesn't cure the sluggishness, we can start looking for other causes (like spyyware). Do you run Adaware, Spybot S&D and / or a good antivirus package with updated definitions. Also, a breif list of your system specs would be helpful (CPU, RAM, etc.)
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Doc Watson
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Carol,

    Sounds like you are on top of things. One thing I would recommend is to get a copy of Adaware se and scan your system with that after updating it. Adaware tends to find things that Spybot doesn't and vice-versa. There may be some spyware or adware hiding somewhere and causing your troubles. You seem pretty thorough, but it can happen to anyone. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15> If Adaware doesn't turn up anything, then you might want to run the defrag utility, even though it tells you it's not necessary. From your system description, I'm guessing that you have a 40GB hard drive running at 5400 RPM, with about 70 - 80% of the drive free. The smaller, slower drives can be more affected by fragmentation and it's a painless process that you can run while you are away from your machine or setup to run overnight if you prefer.

    As for the update problem, I'd suspect that damaged ActiveX controler too. If you are doing the updates and monitoring the installations as they are being done, have you noticed any error messages or anything that might indicate that the update was not successful ?? Some of the updates cannot be removed, and thus wouldn't show up in Add/Remove Programs or in the list of uninstalls in the Windows folder. I'd suggest going back to the Microsoft Update site and letting it scan your system. If Microsoft's update site scans your system and tells you that the updates in question are installed, I bet that you can be pretty sure that they are there. Then I would run a Google search for that ActiveX file and see if you can find out what it does and if you can download a good copy and replace it. HTH. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Hi Doc Watson.....
    Re Sys description----Yes, 40 GB......I can't find any reference to the RPMs---The closest I've come is: Proc Speed =1794MHz......The drive is 84% free.....
    I haven't seen any error messages.......All appeared to install without a hitch......But, with the new V5 version of WU, my update log is no longer being updated and I can't locate a 'new' log associated with V5...There's nothing in Event Viewer or any other logs I've run into that matches up to the times of the updates....
    I've gone back to Microsoft Update site about 5 times just to double check what it will tell me and each time it tells me the same thing----ie-- It doesn't show the 2 in question as needed......
    According to each KB, the 2 in question CAN be un-installed....So, there should be a blue un-install in the list for each and they each should show up in the ADD/REMOVE list....
    Since writing to you yesterday, I did Google ActiveX.....But, was faced with a laundry list of possibilities that totally confused me...I'm still working on it.......
    'Tis a puzzlement......I'll keep at it.......Thanx for all your support with this.....Carol
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    <center>
    <hr>I did Google ActiveX.....But, was faced with a laundry list of possibilities <hr>
    </center>
    I'm not surprised. That's like typing "Beatles" when you want the song 'Hey Jude". <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> You'll need to do the Google search for that particular file name.

    I can't imagine why those 2 updates don't show up if the update site says they are there. That is a mystery. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>

    In all honesty, this is one of those times that I think installing SP2 will settle the issue once and for all. I was extremely "cautious" about updates and had only installed about a dozen of the "critical" ones that Woody approved. Took the plunge with SP2 about a month ago and haven't looked back. It's completely removeable, if you don't like the changes. It seems that MS has finally figured it out and got the update thing right. Heck, I even installed the latest 3 updates/patches today without hardly giving it a thought !! <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15> That's my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>. If enough people throw in their <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>, you might get enough change to "change your mind" !! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    I "Re-Googled" this a m using the full ActiveX info......Have to admit---that didn't help me either since I'm such a novice......I ordered the SP2 disc and will install "in the near future" since I agree whatever problems with it have for the most part been resolved.......I installed Adaware this morning and it found 146 items.....I'll work on dealing with them--maybe that will resolve the issue until SP2 is on the scene......Thanx so much for your help......Carol
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Carol,

    It's good that you installed Adaware. I had a feeling that it would turn up a thing or two. Were most of the items found "Critical Objects" or the "lists" that Adaware se seems to have some issue with. Either way, most of the time you can safely let Adaware remove what it finds. On the rare occasion when it removes something that a desireable application or program needs to run, it can be restored from Quarentine with out much trouble. It wouldn't surprise me if removing the things that Adaware found will resolve most, if not all, of your problems. Then you can focus on getting up the gumption to install SP2 when the CD arrives !! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> If that ActiveX file is still an issue, we can take a look at that first. Let's see what happens when Adaware has done it's business, and go from there.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    66
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Yup-----They were all listed as Critical.....Will work on getting them resolved and then wait for SP2 as you suggest.......Will report back.......Thanx.....Carol
    H/P Pavilion a6400f / Pent Dual Core / Win Vista-SP2 / IE 9 / Chrome / OFFICE 2007 / AVG2015 (Free) / MalwareBytes / Windows Firewall / Verizon DSL / E-mail AOL9.7 / Printer H/P OfficeJet 6700 All In One / Canon SX160 Camera / CCleaner2014 (Free)

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Update question (XP SP1)

    Excellent !!! I'll wait to hear back. Good luck.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •