Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    When I open Windows Explorer it opens with My Documents. I want it to open with My Computer.
    How do I fix it so that it opens the way I want it to? I'll appreciate and and all suggestions.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)


  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    Use the "Windows Key and e" and it will go to My Computer every time.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    The answer was so simple (maybe that's why I didn't know the answer).
    Thanks Dave, you have some geniuses on this forum. It worked like a charm..
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    Tony I must have made an error , the fix didn't work. I could have placed spaces where they didn't belong or omitted spaces whee they did belong.
    I didn't reboot either, should I have?

    Please let me know where I went wrong.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    %SystemRoot%explorer.exe /n, /e, /select, C:

    I've put a Tab instead of a blank in the original line from Tony's reference.

    If it looks like you should put a blank, then you should put one!! (Nothing like new syntax to annoy the user...)

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Windows Explorer (Home Edition SP1)

    I typed it just like you showed me but sorry to say, it still doesn't work. Don't worry about it, it's no big deal. I'll just use the windows logo key plus e and go where I want to be.

    Thanks loads for your help, sorry that I failed.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •