New Lounger
    Thanks

Formula issues (XP)

I'm new to Excel and to this forum so please bear with me. I say that because I'm having difficulty in even asking the question. Here goes...
    Basically I have 5 profit bands, and I am using the formula below to work out profits based on a certain number of new clients for each month. The problem is that if in a given month the number of clients falls between 2 price bands, how will it know to split some into 1 price band and the remainder into the next price band. Does that make sense [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

=IF(SUM(B33)<=25,D3*(Prices!D6-Prices!C6)+C4,
    IF(SUM(B33)<=99,D3*(Prices!G6-Prices!F6)+C4,
    IF(SUM(B33)<=249,D3*(Prices!J6-Prices!I6)+C4,
    IF(SUM(B33)<=499,D3*(Prices!M6-Prices!L6)+C4,
    D3*(Prices!P6-Prices!O6)+C4))))

So what this formula says is: If the number of clients (B33) is less than or equal to 25, then use these prices (Prices!D6-Prices!C6) and then add the clients from the previous month (C4), however If the number of clients (B33) is from 26 to 100, then use these prices (Prices!D6-Prices!C6) and then add the clients from the previous month (C4) etc.

So far so good, but there are 2 problems:
    1) The price bands are 0-25, 26-99, 100-249, 250-499, 500+ and the formula is asking 0-25, 0-99, 0-249, 0-499. How can I change 'less than or equal to' to '26-99'?
    2)If in month 1 I have 20 clients, then in month 2 I have another 20. That's a total of 40 clients, of which 25 fall into the 0-25 price band and 15 fall into the 26-99 price band. How can I get the formula to make this distinction?

Thanks

Re: Formula issues (XP)

1) you don't need to distinguish to remove the "lower bands".
    If it is <=25 it does the first one, to go to the second if, you are automatically >25 so the second is already >25 and <=99.

Another way to do this to eliminate all the nested IFs is to use a VLOOKUP table
    For a discussion of some of these check out John Walkenbach's site