Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Cleaning House

  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Cleaning House

    When I was using Win98, every so often I would re-format and re-install...

    How do I "re-format" if the partition is NTFS? I know that the Win2K install has that as part... But is there a separate way to do it?

    Regards,
    Chuck Billow
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cleaning House

    You could purchase a copy of Win NT (if you can find one) or you could purchase a copy of Win XP. Both will format your drive as NTFS. Kind of expensive however if you already have a copy of Win 2000. Any particular reason why you don't want to use the Win 2000 disk?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    I suppose I'm not thinking too clearly... I've always thought of it in 2 pieces: formatting and THEN installing. But when I've installed my Win2K, it seems I can't do the one without the other -- at least not in NTFS. I like formatting so that the disk is "clean"... Especially in Win2k, I've noticed that the install finds all related installs, partial or not... And I wanted to start "clean"...

    Can I?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    Yes. You are given all the options of what you want to do when you install.
    A quick search of this forum will bring up plenty of threads covering (re)installing, such as <post#=168881>post 168881</post#> and the links it contains.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    Leif & John:

    Thanks... Should have noticed it...

    Regards,
    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    Leif:

    After the choice to format the partition, it went right ahead and installed a second copy of Win2k, not offering any escape hatch...

    So now how the heck do I get rid of it? Hopefully without having to mess with the partitions themselves...?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cleaning House

    Your original post said "I would re-format and re-install".
    And now you have formatted and reinstalled.
    And now you ask "how the heck do I get rid of it?"

    What exactly is it that you want to do that you haven't just done ???????
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    You're right... I was not exactly accurate in my plan...

    Win2K, as you undoubtedly know, creates a slew of directories that are hidden etc. I usually makes backup copies of *all* my files, by copying them to a second partition. But by so doing, I also end up with all the hidden and protected files as well. none of which can be deleted within Win2K, and are not seen by DOS, since they are on an NTFS partition.

    If I wanted to clean out this partition in the "old days", I could just reformat, leaving my main install intact. That is "all" I wanted to accomplish here. But now, as stated, I have two copies of Win2K, both showing up at startup as bootable etc.

    In addition, when I just went into FDisk (Win98), it shows both NTFS partitions, (one each on each of 2 disks), and BOTH a re active. But FDisk says you can only have an active partition on Disk 1,... That's what FDisk thinks!

    I want that partition, not "gone", but empty. And I want Win2K to see it as "gone".

    Possible without a major overhaul?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cleaning House

    If you just want to format a partition, the instructions are here .
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    Will this eliminate the current system "thinking" that there are two full systems, both active?

    And (obviously) DOS doesn't know what Win2K can do... Will all that "Active" info be corrected?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cleaning House

    This should correct the problem Chuck.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    Thank God I backed up just before all this. Thanks for the assistance.

    .... I'll be back...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    As expected, formatting under the RC did in fact clear the partition. But it is still showing up at bootup as a choice:

    1) Windows 2000 (Now defunct)
    2) Windows 2000 (This current install)
    3) Recovery Console.

    So how can I correct this? Do I re-install the RC at Startup option? Would thins correct it's seeing 2 Win2K's?

    Or do I just need to restore from backup? It'd be nice to at least know for future ref how you can correct the boot info...

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger CWBillow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV USA
    Posts
    6,371
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Cleaning House

    John:

    I did restore the partition, just to be sure, but I still wonder:

    Formatting the partition that had the extra install got rid of the files, and I saw where I could edit boot.ini to eliminate the dual opsys showing in the bootup sequence, but are there in fact other pieces that I need to consider?

    Chuck
    -------------------------------------------------
    "Good judgment comes from experience, and experience - well, that comes from poor judgment."

    ~ A(lan) A(lexander) Milne (1882-1956)- "House at Pooh Corner"

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Cleaning House

    Unfortunately I don't have a W2K machine handy so I'm not sure what the boot.ini should (or should not) include. Perhaps someone else can jump in.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •