Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Hi, I have just got my new machine, and have 2 80 Gig SATA hard drives, which i am planning on putting in a RAID 0 configuration. What i was wondering is... is it possible to have a RAID 0 config and still partition the drives? I don't think i wil be able to, but if i could have the RAID seeing the two drives as 1 160Gig drive, and then partition them? Im just curious.

    What I will probably do is get another hard drive for back ups and leave the 2 Raided for normal use.

    [img]/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Hi,
    Yes you can still partition them. As far as Windows is concerned, you just have one 160GB disk (the RAID stripe set). You can then partition that just as you would any disk. A couple of things to note:
    1. Unless you spend a lot of time reading and writing large files, you probably won't see that much of a speed boost. (there is some debate on this point)
    2. If anything goes wrong with either disk, you can lose everything on both disks. If it's a hardware failure on one disk, then you will lose everything on both. (Having said that, I still have a RAID0 set on my PC with a RAID1 set where I store all my important documents etc.)
    Hope that helps.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Probably a silly question, but if you are intending to do RAID-0 on 2 x 80 GB drives, why didn't you just buy a single 160 GB drive? Only one set of moving parts to go wrong!

    I have 2 x 120 GB SATA drives as RAID-1, which I found VERY useful early on when one of the drives failed. Put the new drive in, run the utility, and viola! Back to normal again!

    John

    (Deliberate error left for Becky...!)
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    I missed the error on first reading your post. If you left it for Becky then I guess the rest of us will just have to play along <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    StuartR

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Thanks for that chaps [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img] I may do a little partitioning...

    Not a silly question, but probably a silly answer [img]/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]

    I just wanted to try and set up RAID as I have not used it before. I know it is meant to be faster also, but that this is probably miniscule. I think i will carry on like this for a while though, now that I have got windows on there.

    Cheers
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    If you really want to do RAID for reliability, then RAID-5 is the way to go! Problem is that you need a SCSI card, at least three SCSI drives, and you are then probably a server!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    John,
    You can now get SATA RAID controllers that can handle RAID 0,1,5,10 and 50, so you don't have to go with SCSI. They're not cheap, mind you... <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Rory

    True - both M
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RAID 0 Partitions (XP Pro)

    Heh heh... yes i think its a PROMISE Controller,

    Mines from nVidia - just got their Neo Platinum K8N mobo with my 64bit 754 chip <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31>

    it does RAID 0, 1 and spanning.
    Thanks,

    pmatz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •