Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    I recently had problems with lop.com hijacking my home page etc., Advice from HansV and DaveA led me to forums.net-integration.net and a solution to my hijack problem. Part of the solution inluded updating java to the latest release which it installed as Crogram FilesJavaj2re1.4.2_05javawsjavaws.exe

    I now find that I can no longer access secure sites. e.g., Making a payment on ebay or accessing my online bank site. The security alert warns me that I'm about to view pages over a secure connection but when I click OK, I get "The page cannot be displayed" I've checked the items mentioned on that page but with no result. When I called the bank they suggested that it was a java issue and told me to load the latest version - which I had already done.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    For these important sites, try listing them in your Trusted Sites list. As you may know, the default security for the Trusted Sites zone is low, so this would rule out any problem with your settings. To change the zone, visit the site's home page, then double-click the little "world" icon on the lower right of the status bar. Select the Trusted Zones icon in the dialog, then click the Sites button and add something like *.mybank.com to cover the various possible subdomains of your bank's site.

    I'm not sure you want to do this with eBay. It is full of user-contributed content. I just don't know how safe it is to assign it the lower security.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    No luck with that suggestion. I tried setting the main site as 'trusted' but that setting can only be applied to sites with https prefixes and you can't use wildcards. When I applied it to the actual site I'm trying to reach, the error remains.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    > that setting can only be applied to sites with https prefixes and you can't use wildcards.

    Well, before SP2 neither of those things was true. Sorry to hear about that.

    Interested in trying Firefox?

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    Well I've got SP2 and I can add both http and https sites to the Trusted Zone. SP2 would not seem to be the problem.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    It would seem that you still may be 'infected'. Have you run Ad-aware & Spybot since you've gotten lop removed?

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't access secure sites (IE 6.0 SP2)

    Don't forget... you have to uncheck the box to add non-httpS sites...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •