Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Hi

    I have received the SP2 disk from Microsoft, however whenever I try to install, while it is extracting the files I get a File Corrupt message. I borrowed a SP2 disk from a magazine and it did the same thing.

    Has anyone come across this problem and if so how did you fix it.

    Cheers
    Dax


  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Hi

    I would run ChkDisk to scan for any errors on the hard drive and the system file checker to make sure no system files have been corrupted.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Hi Tony

    Thanks for the information, I've run both the Chkdisk and System file checker. Neither indicated any problems. So I tried installing SP2 again but still received the same error message.

    I have a second PC with XP Home and I used the same CD to install SP2 and it worked fine, so it's not the disk.

    Any other thoughts/suggestions

    Cheers
    Dax


  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Maybe a bad DVD/CD-ROM drive. Can you try another one ? Or try to copy the cd to your hard disk and install from there.
    Francois

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    What exactly is the error message ??? You said it was "File Corrupt". What file is it indicating, if any, that is corrupt ??? If you have the room to try Francois' suggestion and copy the files to your HD and install from there. If you get the same error, then I'd guess that the corrupt file is on your system and is needed by SP2 to do it's work. It's not an answer, but it may be a place to start.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Hi Francios and Doc Watson

    Thanks for the suggestions. I have a DVD drive on the PC and tried installing it using that drive but still got the same problem. I copied the CD to the HDD and when I tried to install still got the same problem.

    The file is corrupt message comes up during the extraction stage. I've tried installing a number of times and there is no particular file (ie it''s usually a different file it says is corrupt...i386flash.oc_, i386msadds32.ax_, i386dx7vb.dl_, etc) I have attached a screen print.

    Hope this can help with any other suggestions

    Cheers
    Dax


  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Try to use WinZip, WinRAR or similar program to uncompress SP-2 file and if no errrors occured during the process, run UPDATE.EXE from uncompressed i386Update folder.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Do you by any chance have McAfee AV and/or firewall running? I have a friend who was having the same problem and I had her run chkdsk (you've already) and it found some busted files. I also had her completely disable McAfee and her SP2 went like clockwork.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    It sounds like it may have something to do with your drive not reading the CD correctly. If you are getting a different file indicated as being corrupt each time you run the installation, it would seem to point to an error reading the CD by the drive (The CD can't have that many corrupt files !!) You might want to check out this Google search. The second entry will download a copy of the file you are having trouble with (i386comdlg32.dl_), although I don't know how much use that will be to you. The fifth link on the search provides instructions on how to extract the file from a DOS prompt. Again, I'm not sure how much good this will do in your particular situation. The download may be a way of repalcing a truely corrupt file and the instructions to extract it via a DOS prompt may provide a workaround for the snag in your install routine. HTH.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    202
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Hi Everyone

    Thanks for your ideas/responses, sorry I didn't respond sooner but I was called away by my work.

    Anyway I've tried all your ideas (except using DOS..not real keen to muck around in it). Unfortunately again I'm stuck. When I tried to extract the SP2 CD using Winzip I get an error message. So I tried with WinRar and again the same problem the error message says: C:sp2xpsp2.exe the archive is corrupt. Which seems strange considering it worked fine on my other PC.

    I also made sure I had no other processes running at the time (ie AVG, Zone Alarm, Ad Watch etc)

    Any other suggestions I could try before I give the game away and just use Windows Update instead and hope it works (I'm on dial up av 31.2 kps so not real keen to go that way). We might think we are a progressive country here down under but if you live further then 6 kilometres from a telephone exchange and in the country like I do then you have no hope of getting anything like broadband/asdl etc. Telstra our main telco couldn't care less about you. Oops sorry didn't mean to have a whinge like that

    Thanks again for your time

    Cheers
    Dax


  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    I think that you have a bad spot on your hard drive, since you stated each time is happens with a different file. You need to run a GOOD surface checker on your hard drive.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    If you do have a major problem with the drive, you might run CHKDISK (or CHKDISK /R from the command prompt) any number of times. Each repeat will correct errors that were missed on previous runs, and if you can eliminate enough of them SP2 may take.

    You may have another disk scanner available, say in a utilities suite like Norton. Include a surface scan. I don't know what's available to you online, but you probably have freeware and trialware software sites like Tucows where you might find such software in a convenient size.

    I wouldn't worry about using DOS if you're trying to repair drive errors, but I don't know what the best repair software available is.

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    <hr><center>I don't know what the best repair software available is.</center><hr>
    Probably Steve Gibson's SpinRite v6.0. A bit pricey, ponderously slow, but very thorough. If it's possible to save a drive, IMHO, this is the software that can do it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    You may benifit from Fred Langa's perfect way to install SP2.
    http://www.informationweek.com/story/showA...icleID=47212312 <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

    Edited by <!profile=StuartR>StuartR<!/profile> to make url active by adding <!t><!/t> and <!t><!/t> tags. See <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: SP2 Trouble installing (Windows XP Prof)

    Use Sherlock Holmes' dictum--when you exclude the alternatives, what remains is the solution: if it is not software or hard drive problem, the cause is memory (RAM)...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •