Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    I have an application with a linked image frame on a form. On slower machines every time it goes to a new record a box flashes briefly on the screen before the picture appears. It has the message "Importing C:image path ....picture.jpg" and a progress bar across the bottom.

    Is there any way to suppress the display of this message box?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    See Suppress the "Loading Image" dialog on the Access Web.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    Thanks Hans, I'll give it a look.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    I had also spent some time (unsuccessfully) trying to get rid of these messages, but I now think that the cure is worse than the disease so I will just accept the (very brief) Importing message.

    I try to avoid Ontimer events unless I really need them, and I also avoid fiddling with the Registry on other people's computers unless I really need to, as well.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    Hi John,

    I have come to the same conclusion -- it's not worth it especially since I will be installing the application on several other computers.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    Can you change the registry setting by VBA code and restore it after the image load?

    The registry setting is HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftShared ToolsGraphics FiltersImportJPEGOptions

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    That is possible, but if you ever open another file type, you'd have to adapt the code.

    With CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    .RegWrite "HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftShared ToolsGraphics FiltersImportJPEGOptionsShowProgressDialog", "No"
    ' code to import picture
    ...
    .RegWrite "HKLMSoftwareMicrosoftShared ToolsGraphics FiltersImportJPEGOptionsShowProgressDialog", "Yes"
    End With

    There is a corresponding set of values in HKEY_CURRENT_USER (HKCU); I haven't tested which has priority.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    That doesn't work, so maybe the HKEY_CURRENT_USER values are the ones to set?

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    It won't take long to try, now will it? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: Supressing Importing Message Box (Access 2000)

    I am always wary of changing the Registry, but well done mate, it was the same path with the HKCU instead of HKLM.

    Thanks Hans.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •