New Lounger
    Thanks

Autotext in Word 2002 (Word 2002)

Help, I am new to Word. I am having trouble creating paragraph files as autotext entries. These paragraph files have fill-ins and have styles applied that I built. The longest paragraph is a 3 meduim sized sentences. Some entries are recorded fine. I am having them places in all active templates. Others put Word into a non-responsive state where I use the task manager to close the app. I can't find a reason for this behavior.

Thanks

Re: Autotext in Word 2002 (Word 2002)

The term "files" has me confused. Can you describe how you are saving the AutoText entries? The simplest way is to select the paragraph (including, if appropriate, the end-of-paragraph mark) and use Insert>AutoText>AutoText..., use the Look in drop-down to specify the template to save in, give it a name in the top combo box, and then click Add. (You also will have to save the template at some point.)

New Lounger
    Thanks

The word 'files' is borrowed from my users. The method you described is similar the method I was using.
    There are so many paragraphs to be selected, I added the autotext toolbar and am using it once I have selected the text. I am including the end of paragraph mark.
    I thought by leaving the default in the lookin droptown as 'all active templates', the autotext would be added to normal and any other template in an open window.

Thanks

I don't know where they'll end up if you keep "All Active Templates," but I'm fairly certain it will be only one of the open templates. (Word has rules for choosing among duplicate entries with identical names, but I don't think it purposely creates them.)

Added: I realize we've gotten away from the "crashing" problem. If you can find one or two in particular that create the problem, maybe you could attach a Word document with just those paragraphs?

New Lounger
    Thanks