Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    1. Did you use proper switches with EXPAND command? The syntax is

    EXPAND [Source file] [Destination folder]

    For example,

    expand d:i386vgaoem.fo_ c:windowssystem

    Remember, run this command from Run dialog or from Command prompt! If you type it right, EXPAND must uncompress the file to the destination folder and give uncompressed file the proper extension, in this case, .FON. If you see compressed file extension, fo_, that means your file is still compressed and can not be used by Windows.

    2. Check for the latest update for your video adapter driver - corrupted or outdated driver could cause the problem. To do so, visit your driver manufacturer website or Windows Update website (the first is better).

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Edited by <!profile=WyllyWylly>WyllyWylly<!/profile> to make links live.

    I keep getting the following message at boot up:
    "Windows could not start. The following file is missing or
    Corrupted windowssystemvgaoem.fon.
    You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows
    Setup using the original setup CD-ROM. Select 'r' at the
    first screen to start repair".

    This happened after using this installation of Windows XP Home for over a year.

    I have repeatedly followed the instructions for replacing the file in:
    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315338

    Expanding this file to System results in it having
    an fo_ extension. I copied it to Temp, (after expanding it from the install CD), renamed it vgaoem.fon, then copied it back to System and System32. It simply doesn't work. None of the other startup options work either. I don't think the named file is really the problem.

    My options are to do a repair reinstall every day, (which doesn't repair the problem but does allow me to use my computer normally until I have to shut down or reboot), or to let my computer run. Either way I can't do any updates as many of them require a system restart which isn't possible.

    I've scoured the web for a possible solution but all I can find is many references to the problem, no solution, (except Experts-exchange.com but they will only share their solution if I subscribe to their Premium Service. I would subscribe if I thought they really had a solution).

    "How to start your computer by using the Last Known Good Configuration feature in Windows XP".
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;307852
    Hasn't been any help.

    There are 7 or 8 posts on this problem in Microsoft's Windows XP performance and Maintenance Community Newsgroup but no intelligent answers from the MVPs. They have avoided answering my post. The problem seems to go back to Windows 3.1, 95, and 98, and many of the posts indicate it is a problem with the SP2 upgrade, (I haven't done SP2 yet), or specific HP/Compaq machines.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Edited by <!profile=WyllyWylly>WyllyWylly<!/profile> to make link live.

    I found the tile in C:WindowsFonts, version 3.10.
    It 's a Fonts file, at least on my computer it is. The description reads: VGA (640x480) resolution terminal font.
    The error you received mentions it being in system 32 which is not the way it appears on my system..

    I hope this helps you track it down. By the way it's a Windows Operating System file. Perhaps you can find it on the OS CD or do a SFC (System File Checker) and restore a working copy.. If you know nothing about using SFC, visit http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html

    Good hunting.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Thank you Duchess! I've posted this problem on 7 or 8 boards and you were the first to suggest sfc. I gave it a try but no help. This just isn't the real problem. I'm still fighting but, I'm about to buy a new harddrive and install XP Home slipstreamed with SP-1 and SP-2. I don't want to format my current C: drive as I'm afraid I'll lose something important. I have backups but I've been in situations where the backup wouldn't restore. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Have you tried to expand the file to some other location and then copy or move it to c:windowssystem?

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    (Edited by Leif to make link live - see the quick guide - it makes life a lot easier for others trying to follow the link.)

    Here's another suggestion. Try http://www.winmag.com/fixes/default.htm.Go to "Find Your Fix."

    See if your problems there.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Where on the page is "Find your fix"? - it may be just me but I just can't see it.

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45> Excuse me friend. I haven't been to that site for a long time and that's what was noted in my notes. I should have checked it out before I posted my reply. Did you read everything? If you did and couldn't find any help, you'll have to go somewhere else. How about using Google Search?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Mill Hall, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: vgaoem.fon (XPSP1)

    Thank you all, Duchess843, Joeperez, Kaplimb, and Lief! As I suspected, the file, "vgaoem.fon" wasn't the real problem. Windows is devious and you can seldom rely on any message being correct. The real problem reared it's ugly head today after a power failure. The message replaced "vgaoem.fon" in System with "hal.dll" in System32. Replacing that, using the Repair Console appears to have fixed the problem. I was prepaired to "format C:" and go from there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •