Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    To buy a hard drive

    I would like to stick with Seagate because that is what I currently own although this question may apply to any hard drive brand. I am confused about the what the EIDE vs IDE mean? Which would be better to buy? (Win XP SP2 specs) <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Answer #1: They are the same thing.

    Answer #2: According to http://ata-atapi.com/hist.htm#T12
    <code>EIDE was first used by Western Digital to hype a new line of disk drives back in 1993 or 1994. These were ATA-2 compatible drives that supported the new PIO modes 3 and 4 data transfer timings. Western Digital was trying to establish itself as a major disk drive supplier in those days. Western Digital continues to use EIDE to describe their products even though the ATA interface has progressed well beyond the capabilities of ATA-2. Western Digital just keeps redefining what they mean by EIDE!
    </code>

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> for the quick reply and the informative link! Even Seagate uses both terms so this helps with my decision making. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I want to start with a fresh system but I didn't want to destroy my current one with a format until I had the "new" up and running to my satisfaction!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Sounds like you plan to do a fresh install of your OS when you buy your new drive, Skitterbug, so I know I'm putting in <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15> here that you didn't ask for. I know you've seen this in other posts in The Lounge but remember to be wary of drive preparation software that may come with a new drive. Some of them do "proprietary" things with the drive that may get in your way later on or in a partitioning process. I always prepare my drives with a Win98SE diskette that I keep around, but you can do the same thing with the WinXP CD, especially if you plan to use NTFS. For FAT32 however, Win98 can handle larger partitions than does XP. So there, I've butted in... <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Skitterbug

    I would ensure that you already have in your PC, or ensure that they come with the drive, all the "bits" you'll need to get the new drive to work, such as:<UL><LI>there is a spare power supply connector and a spare plug on the data cable for the drive<LI>two "mounting bars" and the four small bolts that will enable you to secure the drive in the drive cage<LI>last, but not least, the tiny jumper that will enable you to set Secondary or Cable Select on the new drive[/list]I know that you know all this, being an ace techie <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23>, but lesser-skilled others attempting this exercise may end up deeply ratty at the omission of one or more of these necessities! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    As to drive type, I would suggest the Barracuda 7200 rpm variety with a plethora of Gigabytes!

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Hi John,

    I appreciate the kindly reminders and that does bring up a good point. Some hard drives come boxed for retail and others are only sold as just OEM - HD only. Sometimes it is worth a bit extra to get the retail boxed variety especially if parts needed may be a concern.

    BTW - I generally don't use the "cable select" method. I like the jumpers set for master and slave.

    I think my choice will be the Seagate Barracuda 80G HD. So now once I order it, I will have to endure the waiting....waiting....and waiting.....for it to be delivered. Even though it may show up in two days, once I want to start a project, I am one to want to do it NOW!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by skitterbug on 31-Oct-04 15:42. Added a PS to my post. :-))</P>Hi Al,

    Hey, your <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15> are always welcome in any questions that I ask!! Like you, I usually use the boot floppy method of formatting a drive but as you pointed out if I want to do NTFS I may need to use the WinXP CD to get that accomplished. I guess I have been 'mulling' over the "how" of this project to get it done. Even though I have experience in this, I manage to "goof" up some step or another and end up back tracking or starting over. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Good thing it is a HARD disk <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> The one thing I do like about the Fat32 partition is that the computer can always be "checked out" by using the old reliable floppy disk. This method is also something that I am more familiar with so it will probably be the direction I go in - at least to get the O/S loaded up and running.

    I also have Acronis Partition Expert App. that may play a part in setting up my hard drive. And once I have a good working system, I have True Image to make my backup. And if I mess it up royally, I have the Lounge to give me a "helping hand"!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> So one other item on my "to do" list will be to rig up the NT box so I have online connection to keep in contact with my "lifeline" before I actually start on the new HD install!! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    ps: I wanted to add that if my thinking is flawed in any way, please don't hesitate to jump right back in and head me in the "proper thinking" direction!! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    The waiting time is when you write up your plan for how you will use it. So you can check the steps off one at a time and make sure you don't forget anything.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    > ...once I want to start a project, I am one to want to do it NOW

    Women are so impatient, aren't they? <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> Compared with their laid-back men-folk... <img src=/S/cool.gif border=0 alt=cool width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    John <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> <img src=/S/duck.gif border=0 alt=duck width=23 height=23> <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Well, so much for wanting to finish my project quickly! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> This particular project has taken forever simply because the first and second install did not go the way I liked. Then I finally had a good working hard drive plugged into a back up power supply but for some unknown reason, the hard drive became corrupted anyway - during the ice storm and several power surges. So I fell back to my trusty back up made with True Image and the first CD claimed it was corrupted! I used it not so long ago and it worked perfectly. <img src=/S/sigh.gif border=0 alt=sigh width=15 height=15> Do you hear disgust in my "voice"!!

    So I reformatted the thing again using the trusty win98 boot floppy, installed Win98 and made it into a duel boot computer with Win XP Pro. Now I should be fine but I am going to wait a bit BEFORE I have to authenticate it again just to be certain it will continue to run as expected.

    But I do have a question! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> When I installed XP I wanted to put my system files on the HD first before the actual install and go from these files - but I managed to miss the step for doing this. I know where I missed the step, but I don't want to try all of this all over again! Is there anyway to copy over the files now and have the system look to these files instead of it asking for the Install CD? If yes, which files would be necessary to copy over - the I386 folder only or something more? If no, then I will probably live with what I have, for now at least. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> for all the help!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    Ms Skitterbug

    I assume that when you have a duel-boot, the two operating systems fight it out to the death?!

    John

    PS As to your question, you could certainly copy the I386 folder across, but you'd then have to repoint all the Registry Entries from D:I386 (or whatever) to C:I386 (or whatever). I can't find a reference to this in any of the "Tweak"-type websites, unfortunately...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: To buy a hard drive

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> Lounge Pedant!! I bet I provided you a hearty chuckle when you came across this post! And in my case, perhaps you are even more correct in assuming that the O/Ss are fighting to the death! It certainly seems so to me! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> If one doesn't "act" up, then the other one does! But I am going to win, and this computer with the "dual-boot" set-up will lose! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> It is going to work if it takes me until spring to do it! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •