Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    AutomergeField???? Where are my variable names?

    Hello,
    I'm running a mail merge in WD2K pulling List data from Excel2K. When I use the insert Mergefield dropdown list, it only shows AutomergeField and AutomergeField1. It was previously listing my actual fieldnames, so I'm guessing I somehow goofed up on the Insert Name process when I defined the Headernames as dynamic ranges using Insert Name Define.
    I've since taken that out and renamed the column labels the old way, but no use. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    26
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutomergeField???? Where are my variable names?

    <font color=blue><font face="Comic Sans MS">This happens when your Field names cannot be found by Word. When using an Excel file as a Data Source, the field names MUST be in the first row of the the Spreadsheet and there can be no blank rows between the field names and the actual data. Correct your Excel list, save and then try the merge again. </font color=blue></font face=comic>

  3. #3
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: AutomergeField???? Where are my variable names?

    Hi Mark,

    As Daes pointed out, this happens when Word is unable to determine your header row.

    If you can not move your list to the first row, then as you indicated you can use a named range, but it has its limitations such as the need to redefine the named range from time to time.

    What I do is to turn on the AutoFilter for the list (Data/Filter/AutoFilter) This creates named range called _FilterDatabase. Since this named range applies to the entire list, there is no need to redefine it.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers!

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutomergeField???? Where are my variable names?

    Thanks guys,
    I already had the Field names/Header Row in the first column, and the data snugged up tight like it should be, so I'm still not sure what was going on there. BAM, the AutoFilter is awesome, and selecting it from the merge did allow me to access the fields on the first worksheet, but not the others. Now Geof's post, "Word DataSource Not First sheet in Workbook" is catching my eye. Are we only allowed to merge fields from one worksheet at a time?
    (BTW, can someone tell me how you insert links to other posts in these things?)
    Thanks again for the help.

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Tallahassee, Florida, USA
    Posts
    901
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: AutomergeField???? Where are my variable names?

    Hi, Mark! Item 17 in <font color=red><A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wopr.com/w3thelp/help_17.html>HELP</A></font color=red> provides details on using the URL tags. Good luck!
    Karen

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Uh, BAM... about this AutoFilter thing...

    On second thought, I think I hate it.

    You were right, selecting _FilterDatabase from the Word doc gave me access to all the fields as mergesources, and it was kind of cool to have combo boxes available for each field, but my file size has ballooned and the thing now takes about a minute to save.

    My list has 2000 records, 10 source fields and about 15 calculated fields. I remember Charlotte talking about Indexes in the Access Forum and saying that too many of them could slow a database down. Does Autofilter create an index for each of my fields?

    And most importantly, how do I turn the thing off? (I finally just put the fields I want to merge on the first worksheet)
    Thanks again,
    Mark

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wilmington, NC
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Uh, BAM... about this AutoFilter thing...

    Then again, I could try decaff..
    A brief experiment showed that the file size ballooned because I had added calculated fields, and the primary reason for long saves was cuz it was over the network. Sorry about the hysterics.... <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15>
    Mark

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •