Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Recently, I've raised questions about how to best change my peer to peer (using a crossover cable) network to add a notebook and later a desktop computer.

    1. There are currently two computers: One in Win 2000, the other is Win 95.
    2. Connect to the internet using a dial-up modem, not DSL or whatever.
    3. Net is peer to peer using crossover cable.

    I need to change the net to use a router/switch so that I can add, in the short run a notebook, and later another desktop, both of which will likely be using Win XP.

    Folkes have been recommending that I get a broadband router that can act as a wireless AP as I will likely connect the notebook via wireless, but need not be so restricted.

    It seems that such routers are intended to connect to the internet as well as hook up the network.

    Is there a router, or other means, that could do this but use a dial-up modem?
    Perhaps that would require a separate WAP, in addition to a router/switch to hook tho system together?

    What would be recommended?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Have you Googled "dial-up router" ?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    I may have found what you are looking for, the Netgear FWG114P! Has built in print server too!

    Note - I often recommend dial-up users get a router with dial up support - but I must add, I have never used one. I know the dial-up feature is only meant as a backup - I "assume" that it can be used full time.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Thanx.

    I'll try calling Netgear.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Please let us know what you think - you're the guinea pig!
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Oink!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Finally!!!

    This looks like it does the job, handles Win 95 too.

    Netgear WGR614

    Price after rebate is less than $40.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Thanx to all of you who responded in this, and other, threads.

    The deed is done!!

    Within the past hour I purchased the Netgear WGR614 at Circuit City, price after rebates $39.99, I believe Circuit City rebate ends 14 Nov 2004.

    If you want to make sure one buys WGR614 v5, the latest version of the firmware, do NOT buy online.

    All the web sites I checked all claimed to be selling the silver colored version, v5 is white.

    I called Circuit City, they had both colors. Boxes are similar enough that one could miss the difference, however, side panel does say WGR614 v5.

    Oh well, there goes much of tomorrow changing my setup and hoping the critter works.

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Now, I'm confused. I thought this device had to have dial-up support but I don't se where it does. Did I miss something?
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    The FWG114P does not handle internal modems.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Also, in the Spyware forum, I posted:

    1. I never would use the modem on the Win 95 system, which is powered down nearly all the time, unless the modems on my other systems went kaput.

    2. Whilst at home, the modem on the notebook would be used only when I needed to run, say, Windows/Office/Live Update, or when modem on Win 2000 system goes kaput. Actually, the Win 95 has the same modem as the Win 2000 system, so I could use that modem on the Win 2000 system. And, the modems on the Win 2000 and Win 95 systems have lifetime warranties.

    3. Once I add another desktop next year, I would only use the modem on the Win 2000 system to run, say, Windows/Office/Live Update. My main system would be the new desktop, which would have Win XP.

    So, I guess worrying about the dial-up modem ain't so important.

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Okay - I understand - and this router was a bit cheaper too - always a good thing.

    Now you are ready for broadband!!!
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    About $100 cheaper, that's 250 servings of yogurt!

    The critter will likely serve my purposes.
    I purchased 14 foot Cat 5e cables.

    I'm reading the manual before I attempt to install.
    Then I have to complete clearing out space in my work area.

    I'll not be able to tell whether the wireless works until I get a notebook.

    I have no intention of getting broadband, tho I may reconsider when I build/buy a desktop next year.

    I had a case yestersday where broadband might have come in handy.
    In response to a mail that listed the type of services I might offer someone, I received a response that pointed me to a 27MB file.
    At least he had enough sense to not send it via email.

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: I'm confused, OK, you already knew that!

    Internal modems? I don't know of any router for the home or small office that handles internal modems. Corporate routers, costing in the $1000s can.

    Sorry, I assumed there was an understanding that an external modem would have to be attached to the router. My point with internal modems was only that they could be removed from any attached computer, thereby freeing up a slot.
    Bill (AFE7Ret)
    Freedom is NOT Free!
    Heat is the bane of all electronics!

    ─────────────────────

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •