Bronze Lounger
    Thanks

Clean up data (2003)

I'm working on a project to consolidate the contents of four regulations. Each regulation has its own glossary, and the consolidated glossary thus has many redundant entries. The regulations are in Word, so I copied each glossary and pasted them into a single Excel spreadsheet. The spreadsheet now displays the contents of the glossaries in one column (A). Cell A1 has the first word, Cell A2 the definition, and Cell A3 is blank. The second word appears in Cell A4...and so on and so on.

I eventually want to import the entire list into Access, where I can use the Find Duplicates wizard. Before I import into Access, however, I think I need to do the following:

1. Remove the empty rows, and
    2. Put the definitions into Column B.

To delete the empty rows, I tried using the macro Rudi posted in <post#=419416>post 419416</post#> but without success. I confess I've no experience building macros in Excel. I've used the macro recorder, but naught else. I plugged Rudi's macro into something in the VBE, and now the macro appears in the list of macros at Tools > macros.... But when I run the macro, nothing happens. I don't get an error message

Uranium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Clean up data (2003)

Does this do what you want:

<pre>Public Sub RegFormat()
    Dim I As Long, lLastRow As Long
    lLastRow = Range("A65536").End(xlUp).Row
    For I = lLastRow To 1 Step -3
    Range("B1").Offset(I - 2, 0).Value = Range("A1").Offset(I - 1, 0).Value
    Range(Range("A1").Offset(I - 1, 0), Range("A1").Offset(I, 0)).EntireRow.Delete
    Next I
    End Sub
    </pre>

Legare Coleman

Lounger
    Thanks

Doing it without macros (advantage - you can check each step.):
    Step 1. Insert Row and use row 1 for headings. Cell A1 becomes "Original"
    Step 2. In column B, heading is "Order". number 1, 2, 3, etc all the way down. So B2=1, B3=2, B4=3, B5=4, . This means you can sort and retrieve your original.