Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hiding Rows (2000)

    If a row 1 has data but row 2 doesn't on sheet 1 - How can I only show the data in row 1 on another worksheet ?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Hiding Rows (2000)

    Can you be more specific as to how you are indending to transfer the data to Sheet 2?
    Are you planning to use Linked Formulas, or Filtered Data or onother method to take the data to sheet 2!
    Different methods have different actions. it will be easier to help you if we know exactly what you want to do!
    Regards,
    Rudi

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Hiding Rows (2000)

    On the attached sheet sheet 1 is used for data input - the second sheet is a customer quote sheet. I'm looking to hide rows 7, 8, 9 & 10 as they have no data on this example.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Hiding Rows (2000)

    Like Rudi I'm not sure what you mean but does the attached workbook help?

    Sheet1 has 3 throws of dummy data but row 2 is completely empty. On Sheet 2 the formulae refer back to sheet 1 and checks if the dependent cell is blank, if so it returns an empty string otherwise it returns the contents of the dependent cell.

    If you were to apply an autofilter to sheet 2 (Data|Filter|AutoFilter) and select 'Non-blanks' from the drop down then row 2 will be hidden.

    stuck

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Arriving Somewhere but not Here
    Posts
    698
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Hiding Rows (2000)

    OK, I've partially applied my idea to your example. I've only linked column A on Quote to column A on Input, you can extend it to populate the rest of the columns. The Autofilter on column B is set to show non-blanks.

    stuck

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Hiding Rows (2000)

    As Stuck illustrates, you can use filters to do the job. Probably the better thing to do.
    Another method if you don't want the dropdown arrows is:
    Select Cells A4:A10,
    Choose Edit | Go To
    Select the Special button
    Choose "Blanks"
    Then with the blanks selected, Choose Format | Row | Hide
    Regards,
    Rudi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •