Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    windows explorer

    I'm having a new problem with my win98 2nd edition computer. After working with windows explorer, moving, deleting, cropping pictures ect, I click the X in the corner to close explorer. I then get the illegal operation message. Explorer does close before the message box pops up. But nothing I have tried will close the message box and windows will not shut down with the box open. I am forced to hold the power button in until the computer shuts off. Of course then windows is mad at me for not properly shutting down. I try cntrl-alt-delete and nothing happens. I can drag the box around but it won't close. I tried re-starting explorer and it will start up but the message box still will not go away. I have run the f-prot virus program, ad-aware, and spybot and came up with nothing. It doesn't happen every time but often enough to bother me. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    Click the "e" in the upper left corner and chose "Close" from the drop down menu or click File>Close. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Seriously though...... See what happens if you leave the machine alone after you have finished working for about a half an hour. Then try and close Explorer. Post back and let me know what happens.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    Waiting for a while seems to cure the problem. I started with a half hour and now I am down to 3 or 4 minutes. I wonder what is causing that all of a sudden? Anyway, thanks for the suggestion. It seems to have solved my problem.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    My thought process was that it's an older processor and you probably have at most 128 MB of RAM (likely not more than 64 MB). You were doing a lot of work and the system needed more time to finish processing the data. Letting it "rest" after you finished working allowed it time to finish working and then it could accept and process your new commands.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    It is an older machine. An AMD 850 with 384 meg of ram. But his problem just started a few weeks ago. Before this started I did have to wait sometimes for explorer to close after clicking the close botton. But now it closes right away and gives the error message. Something changed. But I can live with it. Thanks for the help.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    I should have known that a veteran Lounger would have bumped up the RAM. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I'm only guessing, but it might have had some task that it was trying to finish and that was what was causing the hangup (installing an update or something in the background). Either way, I'm glad it worked out. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: windows explorer

    Sorry for jumping in on what seems to be completed to your satisfaction, but I have a question. You said in the first post that the machine runs the F-Prot AV program and I don't know anything about it. But, there are others that used to (or sometimes do still) cause processor slowdowns. Has the AV been updated lately, the "engine" that is, not signatures files necessarily? I was just fishing around for something else that could be going on, causing this slowdown in Explorer trying to finish its work. Back when I used to run McAfee, YOUR symptom was mine, in spades. After I learned how to make a tweak to McAfee, the Explorer slowness went away - and I was running Win98SE at the time. Just some senile thoughts... <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    Senile thoughts is better than no thoughts !!!!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    I'm glad you did jump in. I haven't solved the problem, just figured out how to live with it. But now that you mentioned it, I did upgrade F-Prot around the time this started. That is something to think about. There is one component that gave me problems in the past. It has to do with notifying when updates are available. I've shut that off and I'll see what happens. I switched to F_Prot because of problems with McAfee. I'll see what happens here now. Let you know.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    See Al, I told ya, senile thoughts ain't so bad !!! <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    The problem has not gone away. It seems worse. I get the error each time I try to close windows explorer. The details are "explorer has caused a page fault in module kernel32.dll or module unknown". I have turned off the virus checker, uninstalled ad adare and spybot (after using them to check for problems). I renamed the applog folder and let windows create a new one. That changed the error from kernel32 to module unknown. I was leaving the computer sit for a while before closing windows explorer but that no longer seems to work. I checked for viruses, spyware ect and found nothing. Any other ideas other than a re-install?

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    You could try an "over-the-top" install first. That might "fix" whatever is wrong, if it's related to Windows, and not really change anything else too much. If that doesn't do it, then you might want to consider a "clean" install of Windows, where you wipe the Windows folder out and then reinstall. But then you have to reinstall all your apps and utilities, so you might as well go for the format and reinstall at that point and get the whole slate clean. Just my <img src=/S/2cents.gif border=0 alt=2cents width=15 height=15>.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    You might have some luck running "sfc" (System File Checker) from the Start -> Run box. This may identify any corrupted file(s) and prompt you to insert you Win98 CD, so that it can replace it. Worth a shot maybe, before going the reinstall route(s).

    Alan

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    I tried that already Alan. It found only a setup something file that had changed. Thanks.

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: windows explorer

    I did a little Google for the error message and found this possible fix in this thread.

    I was having some trouble as well with kernel32.dll, explorer kept causing errors in kernel32.dll. To fix it I just renamed the hidden folder in windows named "APPLOG" to something different, like "APPLOG2" all it does is recreate the files, which fixes any damaged ones.

    and also a link to this resource. HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •