Thread: Dropdown Text

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Dropdown Text

Novice here!

I use RoboHelp to create online help. One of the tools with RoboHelp is a DHTML effect where by highlighting a graphic or some text, when the user clicks on the hotspot, whatever text I have defined is displayed as an additional section between the end of the paragraph containing the hotspot and what had been the next paragraph.Thus if this paragraph contained the hotspot, then the text displayed would appear as the next paragraph. The text displayed can include graphics, tables, anything you can put in an HTML page.

The problem with what RoboHelp have supplied is that it only works Internet Explorer. I want to be able to produce something that will work in IE or Firefox. My thinking was that some javascript using document.write would be the thing to use but I soon realised that creates a new page with the text defined. It would also seem that you cannot use it to write tables.

Can someone please advise whether what I want to do is achievable by someone with very limited skills, or even possible at all?

Thanks

Re: Dropdown Text

Starting with IE version 5, the code for hiding and displaying a DIV or SPAN is (or at least can be) identical between IE and Mozilla/Firefox. The problem is that IE4 used a nonstandard document object model, and probably RoboHelp is using the IE4 model for maximum compatibility with the installed base.

For example of how to show or hide a paragraph using W3C-compliant code, see <post#=245854>post 245854</post#>. This corresponds to a page on our intranet that I can only provide a peek at.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks