Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Richland, Washington, USA
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Multi-column subreport (2003 (11.6355.6350) SP1)

    Can a multi-column subreport be included parent report (with no multiple columns)? I've tried this, but the first column of sub-report runs over to a new parent report page rather than starting a new column on the parent's first page. I have a hunch it can be done, but I have some parent or subreport parameters set wrong. I haven't figured out how to get it to work. Any hints?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sint Niklaas, Belgium
    Posts
    2,778
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multi-column subreport (2003 (11.6355.6350) SP1)

    In the page setup of the subreport tab columns, try to set the column layout to Across, then Down.
    Francois

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Multi-column subreport (2003 (11.6355.6350) SP

    Yes it can be done.

    Have you opened the subreport in Design view , gone to Page Setup and set the columns to 2 ?
    Regards
    John



  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Richland, Washington, USA
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multi-column subreport (2003 (11.6355.6350) SP1)

    Francois,

    Thanks for the idea. Across, then down seems to work. I'd prefer "newspaper-style", though (down, then across). As it turns out, I worked around the problem by just getting rid of the subreport and set up my main report for multiple columns. This worked fine for this particular situation. I went back and regenerated the subreport to test your suggestion and, lo-and-behold, the columns displayed the way they should -- down, then across or across, then down -- either way. I must have missed SOMETHING the first go-around. (I know I had multiple columns set for the subreport since I tried opening up the subreport by itself and got the columns I wanted.) Go figure...

    Thanks anyway.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Richland, Washington, USA
    Posts
    407
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Multi-column subreport (2003 (11.6355.6350) SP

    John,

    I had set up my subreport for multiple columns (it displayed that way when I opened the subreport by itself). It just wouldn't show columns when embedded as a subreport on a "parent" form. Anyway, for some reason or another, it seems to be working now (see my reply to Francois).

    Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •