New Lounger
    Thanks

Access 2002 Problems?

I'm a VB programmer who uses Access for my data store. Access 2000 caused many, many problems with my older DAO code. And since my users are running a mixed lot of Office versions, I can't force them to move to a single version.

Will Access 2002 create the same headaches for me? Does anyone know?

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Access 2002 Problems?

Access XP is supposed to be even more ADO-centric than Access 2000. I personally have had zero problems with my DAO code in Access 2000, so you might want to do some additional troubleshooting. Access 2000 is fussier about valid code than earlier versions, so some stuff that would compile in old versions but would error out at runtime simply won't compile in Access 2000. Are you turning off your ADO reference? If not, are you specifically declaring all your object variables by type (i.e., DAO.Recordset, etc.)? Otherwise, code may or may not compile, but it is bound to break at runtime because Access won't be able to resolve the methods called to those in the default ADO object model.

One area to explore is whether you used compatibility libraries. They tend to cause more problems than they cure as you migrate through versions, since a point is reached eventually where the version no longer supports that OLD compatibility library. On the other hand, the code those libraries supported is obsolete and breaks entirely when you set a reference to the current DAO library.

Or were you talking about conflicts between Access 2000 runtime and older applications? That is a different issue and is really a setup wizard issue more than an Access issue. The packaging and deployment wizard is certainly better and smarter than the previous version but it can't begin to compare to products like Wise or InstallShield, which can use scripts to intelligently install Access 2000 runtimes on various platforms.
    Charlotte

New Lounger
    Thanks

Charlotte;

Thanks for the quick reply.