2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Form and Query problem (Access 2003)

I am new to Access and I have an ambitious project. I am building a database for a charity to track donations.
    The donor information is stored in one table and donations in another tied together by donor #.
    Since this application will last for a number of years, I have to record all donations and the date received. The user will mainly want to view a donor's donations on a yearly basis.
    I can build a query to view each donor's yearly donations. How can I make this happen through a Form interface?
    The user would be viewing the donor's record info and then merely enter the desired year into a field on the form and press enter to start the query. The results would then be displayed in the space on the main form.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Form and Query problem (Access 2003)

If you want to view the results in the form, you can create a subform to display the donations, linked to the main form by donor number and year.
    First create a query based on the donations table, and add a calculated column Y: Year([DateReceived]) where DateReceived is the date field.
    Then create a continuous form based on this query. Save this form, then place it on the main form as a subform.
    You will probably have to enter the Link Master Fields and Link Child Fields properties of the subform manually.

2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Thank you for the immediate response. Please help me understand your suggested solution.
    I have the query with donor #, donation amount, and donation date. This lists all donations with the asssociated date.
    I do not understand your reference to a calculated field for the date.
    When I enter the year portion of the date in the criteria field under the donation date, no entries in the list are returned by the query.
    Norman

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks