Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    This just started today. I have MSNBC as my home page, it begins to load and I can see it perfectly until the word Done appears at the bottom. I can see everything around the edges but the body of the window disappears when done appears.

    I've checked for pop up blockers, page hijacks, run Ad-aware. Spyware Blaster, checked Zone Alarm, Google Toolbar pop-up blocker, etc. I've hit refresh, rebooted and nothing corrects the situation. System Restore made no restore point for today.

    The homepage was working all day until just a few moments ago. I have not installed anything recently. Is this a familar problem with anyone on this board?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    I have seen this on many systems on many different "High traffic" type of webpages. I think you will find that your browser is just timing out.

    How do you connect to the internet?


    In my opinion one's HOME page should be one that will LOAD fast, I use Woody's Lounge but there are others that will load faster.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    The moment all elements of the page have been downloaded, the browser will execute any script specified in the "onLoad" event in the page's BODY tag. It's possible that someone messed up the script and it is clearing the page. The only way to test this theory would be to block scripts on that page and see if it makes any difference. Of course, if that is the problem, other people will notice and it will get fixed real soon, so maybe just try in a few hours? If it persists, it could be something about your settings. Is MSNBC.com in your "Trusted Sites" list?

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    Timed out for 3 day? I hardly think so. I use a hight speed cable connection, a LAN network, no dial-up for this lady.

    I know I should change my home page, but I still would like to have this problem fixed if all possible. .
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    Ok, try deleteing the MSNBC cookies

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    This is my personal computer and no one, and I mean, no one touches this computer but me. I have not touched anything with the name Script. How do you block script on a page? I have script blocking checked in Norton's System Works.

    I tried to add msnbc to my trusted zone in IE, but I got a message that said: Sites added to this zone must use the https:// prefix. This prefix assumes a secure connection." So, that was the end of that. Tell me what to do, and consider it done.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    I removed every cookie that said MSN, no cigar.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    Gloria,
    When you tried adding this site to your "trusted sites", is the "Require server verification" box checked? If so, that will generate the "Sites added to this zone must use the https:// prefix" message. Uncheck this, add the site and see what happens.

    As well, are you experiencing this in BOTH IE and Firefox?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    I did not mean to imply that someone changed something on your computer. I was referring to the pages you are downloading, and the possibility that the design was changed on the server side, which someone could and would quickly fix.

    I loaded http://www.msnbc.msn.com/ in IE 6 (Windows XP SP1) and I can't see any problems. In IE, because I have my Internet Zone set to "Prompt" for running ActiveX controls, I do get prompted as to whether I want to allow an ActiveX control to run. (And I say no. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>)

    If I put that URL on my Restricted Sites list, which blocks all scripts from running, it loads just fine, and there's no annoying scroll-in/slide-in text next to "Right Now". <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> What if you try that? Does it help?

    (If you have Norton blocking scripts in web pages, that should not be causing the page to go blank on you. That probably is not an issue.)

    You can add sites to your Trusted Sites list without requiring a secure connection. I believe you have to clear a checkbox under the box listing your trusted sites in order to do this.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    Have you also emptied your TIF folder?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    FYI - Norton's Script Blocking is for Locally run scripts -- that is, it blocks extensions assigned to the Windows Script host. It has no effect on HTML scripts.

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    My brain is on sabbitical, please tell me where is this place you enter your trusted zone programs. I know about Zone Alarms, is that the one you're referring too?

    I have AciveX set to notify me every place it's mentioned in IE>Internet Options>Security tab. Although the problem with my homepage fixed itself, I'd still like to know how to set ActiveX the way you have yours. Is it possible to delete ActiveX completley?
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    See the image above from Rebel to see where the Trusted sites are to be added. As he clearly points out, the silly default by Microsoft is to check the "Require server verification (https: )..." box. DELETE THIS ANNOYING CHECK IN THE BOX (as it says above), then add the site to your Trusted sites zone.

    In this case, if the site IS in your Trusted sites zone, then you WANT ActiveX to run. The point of adding it to your Trusted sites zone is so that the site CAN run ActiveX and JavaScript.

    You cannot and do not want to "delete ActiveX completely". ActiveX is simply a technology used by your computer -- all over your computer. It is an outgrowth of the original "Object Linking and Embedding" (OLE) technology that Microsoft starting using with what, Windows 3.1? It does a LOT of useful things on your computer.

    You may, however, wish to Restrict what various sites on the Internet are allowed to run ActiveX on your computer. By default (without WinXPsp2) Microsoft decided that ANY site on the Internet should be allowed to run ActiveX on your computer. Because of this, we now have Browser Hijacks, Drive-by Downloads, and a host of other problems. You wouldn't give a stranger a key to your house, so why would you want ANY website to run any program it wants to on your computer?

    If you don't want any and every website to run ActiveX on your computer, set all the ActiveX settings under Tools | Internet Options | Security | Internet zone to DISABLE. If you visit a site that needs to use ActiveX -- and you WANT it to be able to run this (i.e., you TRUST the site to not muck up your computer), then add the site to your Trusted sites zone. You can do it manually (as above), or use a tool such as Jason's Trust Setter (www.jasons-toolbox.com.

    However, I believe Jefferson was referring to Scripting. This NOT the same as ActiveX, however, both ActiveX and Scripting (usually JavaScript -- which is NOT the same as Java, but that is another story) can be lumped together (with Java) and called "Active Content". Jefferson is referring to a JavaScript command called "onLoad" which does something (whatever the script specifies) after the web page is loaded. IF and ONLY IF the web page is using JavaScript to remove part of the page after it loads, then that might explain your problem. If that were the case, then you might want to RESTRICT Active Scripting on that page to eliminate the possibility that a Script is responsible for the error. That would be the OPPOSITE of adding the site to your Trusted sites zone.

    Probably too much info... Sorry. Hope that helps a tiny bit.

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    FWIW, there is some "onLoad" scripting on the main MSNBC home page:

    <script language="JavaScript">

    var SymRealOnLoad;
    var SymRealOnUnload;

    function SymOnUnload()
    {
    window.open = SymWinOpen;
    if(SymRealOnUnload != null)
    SymRealOnUnload();
    }

    function SymOnLoad()
    {
    if(SymRealOnLoad != null)
    SymRealOnLoad();
    window.open = SymRealWinOpen;
    SymRealOnUnload = window.onunload;
    window.onunload = SymOnUnload;
    }

    SymRealOnLoad = window.onload;
    window.onload = SymOnLoad;

    </script>

    I find no ActiveX on the page.
    _____________________________________________

    WHOOPS! Live and learn. NO! That is NOT coming from the web page. That "Sym" word looked a little interesting, and on further investigation I found out this:
    _______

    If you find the following javascript in your web pages, please disable any Norton based internet security programs and try again. **This code is inserted into all pages automatically by Norton internet security services.**

    ------------------------------------------
    <script language="JavaScript">
    function SymError()
    {
    return true;
    }
    window.onerror = SymError;
    var SymRealWinOpen = window.open;
    function SymWinOpen(url, name, attributes)
    {
    return (new Object());
    }
    window.open = SymWinOpen;
    </script>
    onLoad="var SymTmpWinOpen = window.open; window.open = SymWinOpen; window.open = SymTmpWinOpen;"
    _________

    So, my finding that code on that page is erroneous! It was added by my Norton Internet Security. If I exclude that, then there is NO Javascript using an "onLoad" command on that page.

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Home Page Problems (IE6 SP1)

    Just to add to <!profile=R2>R2<!/profile> 's information on ActiveX, to "disable" it completely, use Firefox. Firefox does not use ActiveX and for those sites that do require it, you can switch to IE.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •