Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    What's the kosher way of doing this?
    I accidentally put the box into standby rather than OFF, and nothing subtle involving mice, keyboards or the big power button on the front would wake it up. Deep coma, not sleep.
    Message on monitor = 'No Signal'. (Brown-trousers worry because v. expensive video card!)
    Then noticed that even with no noise from fans, the numlock light on keyboard was on. So removed plug from wall, returned it, pushed big power button, all OK.
    Is this standby and hibernate bit all a bit flaky? What's a safe(ish) setup?

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    Is it possible that your BIOS does not support Advanced Power Management ? If so, it may be a simple matter of a BIOS upgrade. See <!mskb=310752>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 310752<!/mskb> and <!mskb=307525>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 307525<!/mskb> for additional information.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    The BIOS power setup usually allows you to specify what actions will wake the computer from Standby. Again a BIOS update may be needed if your current version doesn't have these options.

    StuartR

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    On my laptop all I need to do is to push the "Power On" switch and wait for the machine to get started.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Birmingham, West Midlands, United Kingdom
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    Thanks, John & Stuart.
    Sorted.
    NATO is alive and well, at least, here?

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    Can you let us know what you had to do to "sort" it?

    StuartR

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Birmingham, England
    Posts
    123
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: wake from standby? (XP Home SP2)

    Yep, waded into the BIOS and enabled the power management bits.
    In my innocence, I'd imagined that Windows does everything on a box, forgetting that it only does what other bits of the innards ALLOW it to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •